Scotcharoos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
They were tasty, but the frosting only covered half of the dessert. I doubled the chocolate and butterscotch chips and melted them in the microwave. The pan method dried them out. The result was heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I had to double the chocolate/butterscotch mixture for the top in order to cover a 9x13 pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
One of my favorite sweet treats! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Always a hit no matter where I take them. This is a favorite of DH. I made as written; only using a bigger pan so that the treat would be thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
my mom made these all the time growing up. they are amazing! i'm pretty sure her's had double the chocolate/butterscotch topping, though. and we kept them in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Wow, these are yummy! I honestly didn't think I would like these as much as I did (and wasn't very happy to find out I did since I'm on a diet..lol). I'd seen them at potlucks over the years but never tried them since butterscotch has never really tripped my trigger. Guess I've been missing out! I sprinkled some multi-colored sprinkles on top to give them a little color since they are a little blah looking. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I had never heard of a scotcharoo, and made it because it was a recipe for the Allrecipes Allstars group. It was as easy as making a rice crispy treat. It actually somewhat reminded me of a caramel rice crispy. However, strangely, it mostly tasted like a whatchamacallit candy bar. Edit Note: don't get impatient and stick it in the fridge, at any time, like I did. I was able to pluck it out of the pan finally, but then had to use my largest and sharpest knife in the house to cut it into squares. They got really hard. I hope I didn't ruin them. Let them sit at room temperature. It will take some time, but the chocolate will harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
As written a 3. I made these twice, the first time they were hard as a rock. I then modified adding some butter to the mix and they were nice and chewy. With the changes I would rate them a 4. We liked them but have used other versions we like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
The stovetop method is origanally how I made these bars but now I just stir the corn syrup and sugar together and put in microwave for 2 mins. Stir in the peanut butter and microwave for 2 mins more. Remove and add rice cereal. They never have come out hard this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Great! I grew up on these. Today they are one of my childrens favorites. Everyone seems to love these. They have so much flavor (not just plain sugary sweet) compared to the regular rice cereal treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States