Scotch Shortbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
This recipe is the real deal. Light and airy and not overpoweringly sweet. It's not a Mallomar! If you bite into these you can see the actual layers in the cookie...simply and simply delicious. Perfect with that afternoon cup of tea. If a slighter sweetened variation is wanted, try sprinkling a little sugar on the top of the cookies before baking. The bubbles on top of the cookie just lend to it's appeal, this recipe isn't meant to be flat and square like a bar type cookie. Enjoy!!! Thanks for a fabulous addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
i went to london and had these marks and spencer all butter shortbread cookies that i thought were the best. the back listed rice flour and pretty much everything listed in this recipe. these are good enough that i've made them about 2-3 times this past month. my dad likes them, my mom will eat them because they aren't too sweet and i like them with tea. i sprinkle some sugar on top of some of them before baking since my sister thinks that they're bland. one mistake i've made was not kneading the dough enough and not chilling it long enough. i rolled the dough into cylinders and sliced 1/4 inch thick also i liked them better when baked longer than the 5 min listed in the recipe (about 15-20 min)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is truly the original Scottish shortbread! My nana was from Glasgow & she used rice flour in her shortbread. It adds the most heavenly texture to one of lifes' simpler pleasures. This is absolutely the best shortbread recipe out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Drink 'Scotch', eat 'Scottish'. Did not care for this one, sorry..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years. It's my favorite shortbread cookie. I will use salted butter if they need to stand by themselves, but I almost always top them with something. Mmm, try lemon curd, it's lovely. I like to roll them out thick, as much as 3/8", to simulate those beautiful, artificial storebought cookies that my kids beg for. This is a delicious, understated cookie that pairs well with anything. I'm not completely sure, but I think that the rice flour adds delicacy to the cookie. I have made them with 2 1/3 c wheat flour and they don't seem quite as tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
Authentic, light and airy. If you bite the cookies you can see the shortbread layers underneath. They are not too sweet but if that's what you're looking for try sprinkling a little sugar on top--thanks for a fabulous addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
Light and delicious, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
The kids like them more than adults, seem a bit "doughy", but I will keep playing with this recipe. Taste great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
A no star recipe because the cookies were not sweet and were crumbly and tasteless. Most of the cookies "bubbled" either on the top or on the bottom. This is a recipe that I will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakesrme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States