Scotch Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Delicious!Only complaint is they were a bit sweet so I scaled back the sugar to about half... I also simply rolled each piece of dough into a ball about the size of a small ping pong ball and placed them onto the griddle where I smashed them down with a spatula and cooked on one side and then flipped them. Good with milk or anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Deeelish! I just made these. I added a small amount more flour but it's a rather hot day here. I will defiantly make again. *tips* 1) make sure you roll them thin like the recipe says or just make balls and squish them down flat on the pan (both worked fine for me) 2) place them on a fairly hot pan they will create a better crust for flipping and puff up better 3) placement on the pan I automatically placed these scone distance which makes them difficult to flip so think pikelet/pancake spacing so you have room to fit. 4) these turn almost liquid when heated due to the butter content 5) try not to flip them to much just once is best otherwise they start to fall a part
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Very Sweet. Great with Strawberries in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I loved the look, taste,and how easy they were to make. I did change rasins to crasins. They had better color and flavor. I also added 1 TBS grated orange rind it it went great with the crasins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I loved this recipe and will definitely make again. My family ate it up right away. I followed the recipe almost exactly, cooking on the stove as directed, and was surprised at how well they came out after other reviewers suggested baking in the oven. The only change I made was to substitute soymilk for milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
They fell apart when flipping on the griddle. So I spooned the rest of the batter onto a cookie sheet and baked it. It tastes good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Great recipe! Thanks! I needed something to accompany soup for dinner, but I didn't want to wait for the oven to preheat. These were different, but great, like a combination between pancakes, biscuits, and cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michalcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
scones are not mend to be flat like this they taste nice family love them but theres no where to put the jam :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Falkirk, Stirlingshire, Scotland, U.K.
Living In: Sheffield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Makes lovely, moist scones. I used only half a cup of sugar, and they were plenty sweet enough, even for a sugar lover like me. I tried cooking half of them on the stove top, and half of them in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes, and they both turned out quite well, although the ones cooked in the oven were a little bit drier. Either way, the best scone recipe I have found so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Good recipe! I too baked them in the oven although I did 350 for about 20 minutes. I also used half and half for a richer scone instead of milk and used dried cherries! Rolled them out and cut them with a round cutter for a more traditional look! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandycooky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shingletown, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States