Scotch Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
The first time I tried these was at a Renaissance Faire. This is a very tasty recipe although not one I can eat on a regular basis (grin). I would like to mention that the cooler the meat & eggs are when you begin molding, the easier they are to make. I also like to dip my hands in very cold water before molding each one as my hands are always very warm and the fat in the sausage has a tendency liquify quickly. Definitely dust the eggs with flour before appling the sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I've been eating these since I was a little girl and them are wonderful, though incredibly bad for you if fried. I've been looking for a great baked recipe and here it is. I added a little pepper to the pork which gave it an added kick. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northwich, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
My family loves these. Although we call them buried eggs and I do change some things. First I mix half sausage and half turkey along with spices together so it's not so greasy. Then after covering the egg I roll them in crushed pecans and bake them on 325 for 40-45 min. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
my boyfriend is from scotland and i am practicing making a few different things from his homeland. it was a little hard to get the sausage wrapped around the egg(they're slippery little suckers)but i figured it out. i used a package hollandaise sauce and added a tbls of dijon mustard to it. i suppose any mustard you like would do. the sauce was delicious and so was the egg. i'm trying to figure out a away to keep the egg soft bolied though. i think it would be much tastier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These are wonderful. I love to take to parties because they disappear very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
A change for the better. I have made these for years and even had them featured on a cooking segment on TV. Switch out the pork for Jimmy Dean Sausage. It makes for such a better dish. And you can get it in mild, medium or Hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
We decided to have these instead of deviled eggs for Thanksgiving. They were wonderful. My three-year-old even gave her approval (although she doesn't like hard cooked eggs, and gave that part to her dad). Loved the crispy outside and sausage and egg all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redfield, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
These were very good. I baked mine instead of frying. I had to modify this a little as I'm not a huge fan of pork or sausage for that matter. But I love scotch eggs, go figure. Grinding your own meat and spicing it works great. Also I was lacking bread and crumbs at the moment so I substituted with a mixture of Scottish oatmeal, oat bran, and white corn meal with some Italian seasoning and granulated garlic. Worked wonderfully. The one thing that kept this form being a five star rating is the wastefulness. The first time I made these, even though I used less than the recipe called for, I still had so much egg, flour, and meal left over that I added a little milk and baking soda and made drop biscuits. The second time I got along fine with 1/4 cup of flour and 3/4 to 1 cup for the meal/bread crumbs and 2 eggs or 1/4 cup of egg beaters. Remember you can always add more but once the ingredients have come in contact with raw meat and eggs it must be either cooked into something or tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
Recipe needed a little help- I baked (325 for 45 min)instead of frying and turned out great served with hollandaise sauce and family loved it-not a recipe to make on a monthly basis but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Isanti, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I loved these eggs!!! I only gave them 4 stars just because it is a rather unhealthy recipe. But sooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni Zalot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Chef John's Scotch Eggs

How to make Scotch eggs!

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States