Scotch Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
My husband went to the UK and had these, so I looked them up here and tried them for the first time. We don't eat pork, so we got chicken/basil sausage. it was easier than i thought, and i served with a nice big salad loaded with veggies. We perfect complement! Anything heavier would be too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliforniaBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Wales, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
The eggs were a little greasy. Might make them again, but would try baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I used 2 packs of Jimmy Dean Hot Sauasage and added about a 1/2 lb of ground turkey (to make myself feel better about the fat content). Added a little ginger, garlic, and salt to the meat. Baked. Did not fry. Left unbreaded since I'm doing the Atkins thing. Got 8 scotch eggs from the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
to get that grey ring around the egg you have to put the eggs under running cold water for 5 min when they are cooked then continue process and hopefully you will not have that grey ring around the egg jus plain white looks much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
In Belgium, this recipe is called "Bird's nest". It is served with mashed potatoes and covered in tomato sauce. Very yummie. I bake them completely in the oven, without frying them first. As delicious and less greasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Van de Moortele

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I make these all the time. Personally, I get 8 Scotch eggs from 2 pounds of pork sausage. I usually use Panko breadcrumbs as they get so crunchy and delish. You don't need 4 beaten eggs to coat them - 2 is ample. I spray a skillet with Pam and brown them on all sides before baking them in the oven for about 30 mins. I love them with Branston pickle, Husband has his with spicy mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This became a christmas tradition. After all these years I am up to cooking about 40 per season and they always run out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Very good. I use Jimmy Dean Maple Sauasage. To cut back on fat, I bake these at 350 for 45 minutes. My kids (2&8) love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Personally? I loved them and my husband seemed to enjoy them, but my kids (picky eaters, to be sure) didnt like them too much. (I dont like boiled eggs, I dont like hollendaise sauce, etc...) I'm still giving this recipe a 5 star rating because DH and I truly enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Chef John's Scotch Eggs

How to make Scotch eggs!

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States