Scotch Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I make these for the guys i work with and make a few changes. I bake them in the oven at 350. Then once cool I wrap in crescent rolls and bake again. It's the perfect breakfast on the go. Sometimes pair it with a mustard sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
My husband has always wanted me to make these for him so today I did. I used breakfast sausage and only made two eggs so I needed just one egg for coating. I was out of breadcrumbs so I ground saltine crackers and added seasoning. Huge mistake. This made the coating way too hard. Next time, panko crumbs and bread crumbs mixed. I also used a half pound of sausage for two eggs. My sausage layer was a bit thinner than the recipe called for, however, I deep fried these and wanted to be sure the sausage was cooked. They came out just like the picture only darker because I used crackers. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Very easy and quite delicious. I served them with gherkins and some spicy mustard with a salad and rolls, and my husband said they were better than the scotch eggs we'd had in England.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I made this recipe w/10 eggs instead of 4 and it did just fine w/the 2lbs of sausage. Everyone loved them! I think they might have been a little better w/some shredded cheese mixed in w/the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABolack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I tried a batch of these out for some friends and family. They were a hit and were true to the Scotch Egg style. However, had to over fry them to make sure that the sausage got fully cooked. This led to an overly brown (almost burnt) outer shell and a very dry egg yoke. I would suggest the following to improve the recipe: (1) the egg should be soft boiled prior to wraping with sausage and coating it, (2) the scotch egg should be browned to a golden brown color in a fry pan, and (3) the browned egg should then be baked in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
mine didn't come out any where near as pretty as theones in the picture...but daaaaaaaang these are friggen good!!!!i found them to be kind of a hassle to make but definetly worth it!!reminded me of a sausage mcmuffin w/ egg on steroids...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mark'n'karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These were very tasty but as several others have noted the measurements in this recipe are off. I used 2 lbs of spicy deer/pork sausage. I went ahead and hard boiled 5 eggs and definitely could have used 6 or 7. It only needs two beaten eggs to coat. Four cups of dried bread crumbs was not necessary. I used Progresso Parmesan bread crumbs which are very good. I wasted time pan frying then baking and should have just put them in the oven to bake. The result was very tasty albeit quite fattening. They were easy to make and I will make them again but probably only for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
these are great. I took other's advice and baked these instead of frying. I made a point of making the sausage layer thin enough that it would cook through fairly quickly. I baked these at 425 for 30 minutes and they were nice and brown. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLALAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Tip: Don't use Jumbo eggs! They come out softball size!! lol I added black pepper, onion & garlic powders, dried parsley and oregano, and ground red pepper to the breakfast sausage. I used half Panko, half Progresso seasoned bread crumbs. I pan seared and baked them instead of deep frying. Turned out beautifully. (350 for 45 minutes). I agree that for up to 6 eggs, you only need two beaten eggs for dipping, and 2C. total of panko/crumbs. I skipped the flour altogether. Very tasty!! Will do this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonroeMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
My husband is from Britain, and really wanted me to make these for him. The recipe was easy to follow, and they turned out great, he said they tasted just like the scotch eggs he remembers from when he lived in Britain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States