Scotch Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Turned out great. My son requests these all the time, a bit time consuming, but worth is. Great dipped in spicy brown mustard. MMM-mm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I just made these scotch eggs for the first time...they were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
A friend of mine brought these to our 4th of July party. I had never had them before. They were a big hit! She also served them with a spicy rumoulade sauce. Very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Everyone loved these served on lettuce and fresh tomato. I even caught my hubby and 2 kids eating the leftover scotch eggs cold the next morning. Followed other reviews and baked instead of fried. I did use more boiled eggs than it called for, but other than those two changes I kept the recipe the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
First off, this is Mr. Shockley! I made these last night and my wife and I both loved tnem. The only deviation I did was baking them in a cast iron skillet in the oven instead of deep frying them. I will be making more this week to take to snack day at work and I will be browning them before baking this time. I used light flour on the sausage to keep it from sticking to the cutting board and my hand as much. Be sparing with this!!! I discovered that this also makes it difficult for the sausage to stick to itself so some of them spit open at the seam. Someone else had commented on this recipe being wasteful and they were correct. I got 5 large eggs out of 1lb of sausage (might have been able to get one or two more) and used only a half a cup of flour, one cup of Panko bread crumbs, and just a layer of egg beaters in a bowl and still had leftovers. Thanks to whoever suggested flouring the eggs! A light dusting makes them much easier to work with!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Very good and fun to make. 2 lbs of sausage made 6 eggs for us. We also baked them for about 30 minutes on 350, sliced in half, sprinkled each half with Cheddar cheese and baked for another 5 minutes. Even my 6 year old loved these and enjoyed making them with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I used to do something like this, used jalapenos in the middle and called them armadillo eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Use a finely chopped, high fat content sausage left out to reach room temperature before use. You'll thank me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Biggie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made these today for Christmas, they took a little longer to prepare, if you don't like getting messy this recipe is not for you. But so worth getting messy for they are delicious served hot at a main course on cold cut into 1/4's as I used large eggs they were huge ha ha!! maybe small eggs would be the better option, browned on the stove top in a shallow skillet (frying pan) then cooked in the oven for 35-40 minutes this recipe is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
These look delicious. I saw them made on Today show and thought they wouldnt be so easy to make but, everyone says, it works..I want to use corned beef hash instead of sausage. Does anyone know if it would work the same?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Chef John's Scotch Eggs

How to make Scotch eggs!

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States