Scotch Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
First off, this is Mr. Shockley! I made these last night and my wife and I both loved tnem. The only deviation I did was baking them in a cast iron skillet in the oven instead of deep frying them. I will be making more this week to take to snack day at work and I will be browning them before baking this time. I used light flour on the sausage to keep it from sticking to the cutting board and my hand as much. Be sparing with this!!! I discovered that this also makes it difficult for the sausage to stick to itself so some of them spit open at the seam. Someone else had commented on this recipe being wasteful and they were correct. I got 5 large eggs out of 1lb of sausage (might have been able to get one or two more) and used only a half a cup of flour, one cup of Panko bread crumbs, and just a layer of egg beaters in a bowl and still had leftovers. Thanks to whoever suggested flouring the eggs! A light dusting makes them much easier to work with!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Very good and fun to make. 2 lbs of sausage made 6 eggs for us. We also baked them for about 30 minutes on 350, sliced in half, sprinkled each half with Cheddar cheese and baked for another 5 minutes. Even my 6 year old loved these and enjoyed making them with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I used to do something like this, used jalapenos in the middle and called them armadillo eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Use a finely chopped, high fat content sausage left out to reach room temperature before use. You'll thank me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Biggie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made these today for Christmas, they took a little longer to prepare, if you don't like getting messy this recipe is not for you. But so worth getting messy for they are delicious served hot at a main course on cold cut into 1/4's as I used large eggs they were huge ha ha!! maybe small eggs would be the better option, browned on the stove top in a shallow skillet (frying pan) then cooked in the oven for 35-40 minutes this recipe is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
These look delicious. I saw them made on Today show and thought they wouldnt be so easy to make but, everyone says, it works..I want to use corned beef hash instead of sausage. Does anyone know if it would work the same?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
very good....made 8 eggs and used 1c bread crumbs and 1c panko.....baked...skipped the frying...when we ate them we melted a slice of American cheese on top.....Hubby loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marcie Killian Connally
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
These were wonderful and fun. The only reason they don't get five stars is that the recipe amounts are off a little bit. I used ONE pound of sausage and had plenty of coating for six eggs. Other than that, it was spot on. I served it with the mustard sauce found on this website with another scotch egg recipe. Take the other reviewer's advice and lightly flour the eggs before covering them with sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian Connally

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Easy to make and are great as leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladwin, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Great basic recipe, made a few changes/additions on how we make them (this is for 8 eggs)...dust the eggs with flour to help sausage adhere better...used J.D. Sage Sausage...try mixing 1 egg beaten with 2 tsp dijon mustard and 1 tbls water, coat sausage covered eggs in this then roll in bread crumbs or panko crumbs...you can also add 1/8 tsp of mace or nutmeg to the sausage. To cut down the fat place the coated eggs on a greased rack in a large rimmed baking dish or sheet. Bake at 425 for 25mins, turning once, until golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harleysg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States