Scotch Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sheila
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Excellent. I used ground turkey and added spices. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Made these as a treat a while back. Didn't have breadcrumbs on hand so used some flavoured croutons put through a blender. These were delicious and very filling, only needed to eat half a one for breakfast. I put the eggs under some cold water before de-shelling them, it helped immensely, hardly any tears. Would make again for a special occaision.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim Alsid Johnson
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Recipe was easy enough to follow however proportions were off. I used 1lb of sausage to 6 eggs. Used a mixture of Panko breadcrumbs and flour. Deep fried breaded, egg coated sausage wrapped eggs for 5 minutes and then baked in oven for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Alsid Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Will follow up with the results. I get about 3 dozen quail eggs a day and am thinking this recipe will be awesome little Scottish Egg "Poppers"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Good recipe. Did as others suggested and lightly floured the eggs before wrapping in sausage. Used 1lb. Jimmy Dean regular and 1lb Jimmy Dean Sage sausage. Used 2 eggs for dipping, just eyeballed it for the flour and Panko crumbs (added cumin, garlic powder and paprika). I was able to get 7 large Scotch eggs, and probably could have done 2 more. Served with a salad, garlic pickles, horseradish mustard and mango chutney. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris white

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joseph
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I completely forgot the egg so it wasn't as cohesive as it could have been but it worked. I substituted turkey sausage as well. Next time I'll use less! If you use too much sausage it will be really moist and almost doughy on the inside. Otherwise a ton of fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
My family loves them !!! Have made them many times before...making them for my Daughter's wedding reception !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Fun recipe! Easier to make than I thought it would be. My family loved them. Quality sausage is important. I added a little onion powder to my bread crumbs. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This recipe is exactly how my husband from Scotland taught me except he deep fried them until done. They have them over there in the pubs for sale and many take them to picnics instead of fried chicken like we do here. Very rich and yummy! I'll have to try putting them in the oven to cook and see how that goes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I love these... I add diced onion and cook them in muffin tins in the oven for an hour on 350 degrees remembering to turn them after 30 mins. Cooking them in a muffin tin eliminates deep frying ...less calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States