Scotch Eggs with Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I followed the recipe up to cover eggs with sausage but then I baked mine in an oven 325° for about 30 minutes and we liked them like that. Another way to get rid of the gray ring is to steam the eggs, not boil them-the ring is caused from cooking them too long. If you don't have a steamer (rice cooker will work)-put the eggs in water, cover and bring to a boil. Turn off the heat and let set for 12 minutes then cool rapidly in ice water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathrine Ferguson Jenkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Ulm, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KaLola
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I had a problem with getting the pork sausage to cover the egg evenly. I baked these instead of frying. They were still pretty good. Sauce was a little thicker than I liked, so I added a little bit of water while cooking and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaLola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This recipe tasted just like the ones we had at a scottish pub and grill.. I made these yesterday for and appitizer before easter dinner everyone loved them.. I did take the advice of someone else and used the Sage Jimmy Dean sausage. They turned out so great. On the mustard sauce the only thing I did different was use Brown mustard instead of Yellow Mustared. Was go great this will be a great appetizer on anyday. My Boyfriend took the 2 we had left for his lunch the next day and he said they heated up great and were just as good.. Thank you for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This was really enjoyable and the mustard sauce REALLY made the breakfast. With that said, it was a bit of work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I have tried several variations and the original! All are yum! Try it with ground chicken or turkey sausage. I usually opt for baking them to save a few calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Rave of the Christmas Eve party! Delicious! The only trouble I had was getting the sausage cooked through. I think the oil was too hot and browned the bread crumbs too quickly. I ended up just browning them in the fryer to get a nice even colored coat and then I baked them at 325* in the oven for about 50 minutes. After reading quite a few recipes, I also added 2 tablespoons of all purpose flour to the sausage mixture to help the sausage adhere. Had no problems at all! Used 1/2 sage sausage and 1/2 regular pork sausage. Came out beautiful and YUMMY! Thanks for the great recipe, Karen! Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Brings back memories, fantastic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Good appetizer. My friend Mary loves these. Can be baked instead of fried. Do not omit the mustard sauce! It makes this dish pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Not quite as good as my mother in laws, I'm not sure what she does different. Still a very good recipe though! The mustard sauce is a bit bland, though. My boyfriend enjoyed the meal very much though, I'm just picky and that's why I gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crackasmile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Holy WOW! I had some friends in from London and I made these as an appetizer. They went nuts! They said these were BY FAR the best Scotch Eggs they had ever eaten. Even better than the ones they get in Britain! Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari the Amazon
Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Chef John's Scotch Eggs

How to make Scotch eggs!

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States