Scotch Eggs with Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Very good! I did roll the dry eggs in flour before attempting to get the sausage to stick, and it worked well! I did a quick fry to just brown them, then baked at 375f for about 15 minutes to finish. For the eggs, my family gave me an egg cooker several years ago for Christmas--it steams them. I undercooked the eggs just a bit so that they wouldn't have the grey lining nor be overcooked, and that worked well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Excellent recipe! Served it with creamy potatoes and fresh cut roma tomatoes and cucumbers. This recipe is now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
These are as good if not better that the only bar&grill in my area that has em on the menu...made em for just an afternoon snack and the whole fam loved em...this is a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmtmtmfl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I fixed these with the ingredients I had. No lemon zest so I used lemon pepper, Floured the eggs as suggested before putting on the sausage mixture. They were wonderful! Some problems with grease digestion in this family so I baked them. Don't know how they could be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Wonderful flavor and texture! Great to prepare ahead for breakfast the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Boiling eggs: Place eggs in large saucepan. Cover eggs w/1" of COLD WATER. Place on med. heat and bring to a ROLLING BOIL. Remove from heat, cover and let set for at least 20min. Run under cold water until eggs are cool to touch. To peel:Rap lightly with knuckles, NOT on the counter nor edge of the bowl. Start by getting UNDER the MEMBRANE. The shell should come away easily. If storing in the fridge, cover or put them in a zip-lok bag so they won't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greybear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This recipe is delicious as written! It will also be fun to play with the ingredients as well. Update - interesting... I had made this recipe and rated it accordingly, as stated here. I then had said how it bothers me when people give recipes a poor rating based striclty on the fact that they don't care for the ingredients, having never actually made it. That part of my review was removed, but the poor ratings by people who seem to think it is their job to monitor our health are still on here. I'm sure this review won't last long either... Great recipe, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This recipe is very similar to my Grandmother's. She taught us a little trick to get the sausage to adhere to the egg. Roll the dry egg in a little flour before molding sausage to egg. Works wonders!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
IMPORTANT PREP TIP: DRY the peeled eggs before wrapping them in sausage. You won't have to chase them around the kitchen when they come squirting out of the wrap when you squeeze. I LOVE this dish but make it very differently. I roll them in cracker crumbs for a softer, slightly sweeter crust and I bake them on a broiler pan (two levels to trap the fat) so they don't sit in grease. Mustard of any kind is great, however, consider drizzling a little maple syrup instead. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I followed the recipe up to cover eggs with sausage but then I baked mine in an oven 325° for about 30 minutes and we liked them like that. Another way to get rid of the gray ring is to steam the eggs, not boil them-the ring is caused from cooking them too long. If you don't have a steamer (rice cooker will work)-put the eggs in water, cover and bring to a boil. Turn off the heat and let set for 12 minutes then cool rapidly in ice water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathrine Ferguson Jenkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Ulm, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States