Scotch Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
We lived in Ireland for 3 yrs and ate Scotch Eggs often. I was thrilled the first time we went to a Renaissance Faire and they were selling them. Well I made these last night for the first time. I took the advise of browning them in the skillet first and then placed the skillet in the oven. I turned them half way through. My daughter who is one of those people who was born to cook., as she makes up her own recipes and very rarely fails, told me ..I "NAILED" it. Thank you Uklaine! I know now I will be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
loved it! I did bake them the second time I made them to cut down on the grase
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawtell, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
We made this project for my son's school project. It was easy and we enjoyed making it together. I definitely echo drying the eggs and dusting them in flour before wrapping with the sausage mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is a good, reliable recipe for Scotch Eggs. A simple, straightforward enough one, kids with some experience in the kitchen could do it! However, I HATE to deep fry things, so I do like my mom always did with her Scotch eggs and I bake them at 375 for about 30 min. Let them cool a bit before eating so you don't burn your tongue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I saw the video on YouTube, and I had to try these. I made some slight modifications and they turned out great. I used yellow mustard instead of Worcestershire sauce. I deep-fried them until lightly golden brown, and then finished them off in the oven. My son loved them and I will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
These are excellent. I've been making them for years and they taste great. They're one of those things that taste better cold the next day. They only problem is they are just so darn messy to make. But they taste wonderful and look amazing. I always get requests for them at pot lucks, holidays and special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Husband is from Scotland and says these are great! He took them to work with him for lunch to expose the guys to some "real food." LOL. I did stretch the recipe. Did 8 eggs with 1 lb sausage. 2nd time I managed 14 with 2 lbs. Used italian bread crumbs for a little more flavor. Fried for 3-4 minutes, then finished off in the oven for 20 minutes. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Delicious!! My grandma use to make these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This is a great base recipe! Everything cooked perfectly. The only complaint that I have was that the breadcrumb coating was a little bit bland. I will add more spices next time and it will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clh5030

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
omg had my first share today im inlove
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States