Scotch Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I did this however I baked the eggs instead of frying. They were good but a bit mushy from being baked. Will try again and use the fry method. I have had scotch eggs a few times though and the recipe is simple and straight forward for making them and such a nice heavy comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Oven bake is key! I didnt fry mine. I added some dried oregano mix to the sausage and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Absolutely delicious! A special treat for Easter or other holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I loved the idea, but it didn't work so well. First, I only needed 1 beaten egg, so I was glad I decided to beat only two instead of 4. Second, I baked them rather than fried them, and there was just not enough sausage - it shrank too much. Maybe because of the baking? But they tasted quite good. I will try making them again, but I don't think this is the recipe to follow. I'm thinking the ones that use just 4 boiled eggs are probably better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I love scotch eggs! I only gave this four stars because I changed it a bit--only needed one egg, beaten, to dip the sausage/egg balls in, and I only needed 1 cup bread crumbs. I also baked them instead of frying. But they're yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I just don't know what to think of this...Not bad though! You won't know if you like it or not until you try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
We tried this because we remembered Scotch eggs from the Renaissance Festival in Shakopee, MN. These turned out well, my family devoured them! Nice for a surprise treat at dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was a creative and tasty recipe. I made it without the egg in the center and served with spaghetti sauce. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Apart from the Italian breadcrumbs, this recipe is identical to the one my grandma has been using for the last 50 years. The difference - and it's a BIG difference in my opinion - is that she uses home-made breadcrumbs. The result is a much crunchier, munchier coating. We had these with Branston pickle, and a good old-fashioned ploughman's lunch. Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
Wonderful!! Be careful to ensure the sausage is cooked through though, mine was a little on the pink side but I popped them in the oven for 15 min. at 300 to finish. These are awesome drowned in good old HP Sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States