Scotch Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
excellent!! I baked mine though to cut down on the fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I love scotch eggs! I only gave this four stars because I changed it a bit--only needed one egg, beaten, to dip the sausage/egg balls in, and I only needed 1 cup bread crumbs. I also baked them instead of frying. But they're yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Oven bake is key! I didnt fry mine. I added some dried oregano mix to the sausage and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
Wonderful!! Be careful to ensure the sausage is cooked through though, mine was a little on the pink side but I popped them in the oven for 15 min. at 300 to finish. These are awesome drowned in good old HP Sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2000
I have always loved hearty ethnic foods, especially Scottish (as I am of Scottish descent). This is a perfect dish for a cold winter morning or evening. All my children liked it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
We tried this because we remembered Scotch eggs from the Renaissance Festival in Shakopee, MN. These turned out well, my family devoured them! Nice for a surprise treat at dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Fantastic! Made these babies in the turkey fryer on Thanksgiving for a not-so-lo-cal combination. Pretty simple and they were as good as I had anywhere. Rave reviews from around the table. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAD4CUISINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Apart from the Italian breadcrumbs, this recipe is identical to the one my grandma has been using for the last 50 years. The difference - and it's a BIG difference in my opinion - is that she uses home-made breadcrumbs. The result is a much crunchier, munchier coating. We had these with Branston pickle, and a good old-fashioned ploughman's lunch. Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
I have always wanted to try these treats. This recipe was simple to follow and my eggs turned out perfectly. My nephew loved them as well! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
As mentioned keep the sausage cold. Make your patties and refrigerate them a few minutes before wrapping the eggs. Then refrigerate a few minutes before cooking. Also when you cook the eggs make sure you don't overcook them in this step. All you want is for them to be firm enough to peel and wrap. This way when you finish cooking them they are just right not rubbery. instead of flour you can also use corn flakes. This is a great recipe. I love the idea of baking them because my old recipe just said fry and it would take forever to cook them thru. Don't forget the mustard either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Konrad Zebadiah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Scotch Eggs

How to make Scotch eggs!

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Chef John's Deviled Eggs

See how to make sinfully delicious deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States