Scotch Bonnet Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dennie
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Great recipe, i just used different peppers. I used Trinidad scorpion peppers and ghost peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This was a great recipe! It was my first evet attempt at making a hit sauce, and I am pkeased with the results. I typically use Franks and have found it to be dull lately and I was looking for something with more kick! Well I have found it now. I used 14 Scotch Bonnet and 6 Jalapano. I kept the seeds from the Jalapano, but did remove the seeds from the Scotch Bonnet as this is big step up from a franks style sauce! While prepairing the peppers, I used the ziplock bags that you typically use for meat. While cooking, I did open all the windows in the kitchen area as I don't have an exaust fan above the stove. I didn't have an issue with the fumes while it was cooking. The end result was great, the peppers I bought were mixed colours (red, yellow and orange) so when those were mixed with the Jalapanos, it turned out to be a light green/yellow colour. For clean up, I cold rinsed everyting used for cooking before washing with hot water. Overall, it was easy to make, has a great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This turned out really good. Very hot but very tasty. If it weren't for all the slicing it would be awesome. I guess you could throw them in the food processor before cooking instead of slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by walshie
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I used 9 chillies from my garden plus 3 small habeneros - still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I used cayenne and jalapeño peppers because that is what is growing in the garden. This sauce is nice and spicy (I am sure more so with scotch bonnets!) and with great flavor. I added a little more salt and a couple of small tomatoes because they were there. Very easy! I will use this recipe often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I made this recipe, but I only followed the ingredients not the technique or preparation. Basically all you have to do is give to smooth consistency, and then cook it for 10 minutes. And cooking the sauce is optional. My way cuts down on your prep time and cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
!!! I love the hottest of hot sauce and this is a beauty!!! I made two batches and doubled recipe and filled 3 mason jars with each batch. First time followed exactly but more liquidy then I enjoy. Next batch less water and no vinegar and turned out to be the hottest, thickest and most flavorful hot sauce I've made yet. Just make sure the wife's out of the house when you make it or you'll definitely hear some bitchin.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Absolutely fabulous! not for the faint hearted though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Woah buddy! This is a darn good recipe! Its got a great smoky flavor followed by the POW of spice. I used scorpion peppers and habaneros instead because that's what I have in my garden . But wow is it spicy and flavorful. My roommates absolutely loved it and one of them doesn't even like the spicy stuff. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Delicious, and hot. I made it without seeds for the first go and it could have been a touch hotter maybe. It does have a juicy, sweet hint which is great. I added 1/2 tsp of mustard powder, toned down the garlic a little and used half white sugar, half demerera. Yum. I'm now trying version 2 with peaches as per another suggestion in these reviews. Bring on the hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States