Scotch Bonnet Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I have been looking for a basic Scotch Bonnet / Habanero sauce for a long time and this is the best one I have found. I pretty much copied the recipe but omitted the Jalapeños and replaced them with more scotch bonnets. I also used jam sugar (that's what we call it in the UK anyway) which has added pectin in it and made the sauce a little thicker. Any ideas what the shelf life is in the refrigerator with this amount of vinegar? Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This was a very tasty and very hot hotsauce! I didnt have any scotch bonnets so i used red habanero,jalepenos,and thai peppers.I didnt have any fresh garlic so i used garlic salt and omitted the salt I added about a half teaspoonlemon juice. ended up tasting really good.You will need to open some windows or wear an oxygen mask because it is really hard to breath while cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Awesome! My husband loves hot sauces... and did you know they are healthy for you! The hotter the better they are. I kept the seeds in and got maybe about 2 cups of hot sauce. Definitely the best hot sauce out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Great recipe to make your own. I use this one for the basis of many of my recipes by simply adjusting and adding new ingredients for some amazing sauces. My latest has been a variation of this one... Reduce peppers to only 12-14 Scotch Bonnets (don't remove the seeds), reduce garlic to 3 large cloves, 1-2 tomatoes, increase vinegar to a tad less than 1/4 cup, 1/4 cup of fresh orange juice (or to taste), and a few dashes of curry. For the onion, I use a sweet/vadalia. Everything else is the same. It still packs plenty of punch but has subtle hints of citrus. If you try this variation, let me know. Thanks to "bla" for the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This sauce is excellent! I can not recommend it enough! I made it almost exactly as the recipe said. I used 18 habaneros and 6 jalapenos, all WITH seeds. The only difference was that I decreased the sugar to 1 Tbsp and added a can of sliced peaches. Because of my change, it came out a little too sweet, but it aged wonderfully. After a couple of weeks, the jar or so that I had left was FANTASTIC! Sweet and very hot! Goes great on so many things. If you like it less sweet, I would recommend either sticking to the recipe, or perhaps using 1 Tbsp sugar and half a can (or less) of peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
very good recipe and method. I filled 3 chili sauce bottles. I used 10 scotch bonnets(habaneros) + 6 jalapeno + 6 Serrano. I removed all the seeds from the all the peppers. Strong garlic flavor so cut back a few cloves if that offends you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
this is great, i was wondering what to do with the crazy amount of bonnets my bushes were making. i added a little curry and some fresh lime juice. great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAB601

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
a little thinner than i was expecting but quite tasty.. I might add a dash of curry powder next time...you need to open windows and run a fan when the veggies begin to simmer as it's hard to breathe with all the pepper juices going wild!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Fabulous recipe. I have tried variations of this recipe with scotch bonnet, jalapeno and thai chili peppers. Every time I get a jar of dynamite paste. One change I make is to reduce the sugar, as 2 tbsp is a bit too sweet for me. A word of advice, though. Don't prepare this on your kitchen stove if you have people around who don't share your enthusiasm for this recipe. The aroma can be overwhelming. Thanks for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I made this for someone that wanted liquid fire...the hotter the better. So I used straight Scotch bonnets and no Jalapenos; then followed the recipe exactly. My victim absolutely loved it. I tasted a tiny amount and discovered a fruity note that was pleasant. So I decided to use a drop or two in my fruit sauce for meat now and then or when I want a little heat in a dish. Very good sauce in tiny quantities (for me.) I did use a bit of food coloring to get the beautiful color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States