Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
These disappear incredibly fast. They are practically inhaled -- especially with the Easy Devonshire Cream (if you haven't checked out that recipe go! now! it is the PERFECT topping for these scones). The cutting in of the butter is absolute key to getting the maximum yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I made these last night, and added crasins to it. as well as 2 spoons of coconut oil... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Yum! These are so good! The recipe yields 8 scones, but with 3 cups of flour, they turn out huge. I definitely cut them into smaller portions, but maybe that's just because I have small kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housebug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This is my go-to scone recipe. We made chocolate chip scones and they were delicious! I actually have a batch in the oven right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
These are incredibly easy and offer a great canvass. I have made both a cranberry vanilla and orange ginger version of both. I usually make a simple icing to go on top, but they are great without the icing. Very easy as well, even at high altitude (I live at 7,200 ft.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
These were good, but just a little too crunchy on the exterior and a bit chewy overall for me to give them a 5, probably from the excess butter on the crunch and the addition of the egg for the "chew". Some recipes call for letting the dough rest before baking, and if I try this recipe again I will do that and see if that makes them more tender. The upside however, is that they were super moist in the interior, and the butter lent good flavor. However, I like to mix in "stuff" for flavor anyway, my favorite additions are coconut and chocolate chips, but if I don't have those on hand I add little nuggets of dried fruit (apricot chunks, dried cranberries, pineapple chunks) and nuts. So, for me the "extra" buttery-ness and excess sugar are overkill. I usually only add 2-3 Tbsp of sugar not a half cup. I went ahead and put in a 1/3 of a cup, but knew it would be way too sweet with the coconut if I added the full half cup. I also liked the quantity, I divided the dough in half and got 16 decent sized scones. So, overall they were good, but still not nearly as good as James Beard's recipe that he got from his mother. With only 5 ingredients (no butter and no egg,) it produces a moist, rich, a tender crumb, and soft lovely scone with very little effort. (You can look it up online using a search engine.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Easy to make. Use half the sugar as I prefer it not so sweet. Nice scone and tastes good the next day as well. Can be frozen as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Rose wonderfully and tasted perfect. Ideal recipe for scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This was a super easy recipe and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States