Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
First time ever making scones, followed the recipe with the one small change of using a stick of butter (1/2 cup)instead of 3/4 cup, frozen first and then grated into the flour mix. Quick and easy and they turned out amazing! Huge hit with the family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I just tried this recipe...excellente!! with apricot jam!! Just wondering how it would taste if I use coconut milk instead of regular milk....next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Excellent, quick and easy. Just what I like. They had a warm buttery taste. I didn't "roll" out the dough, just flattened with my hands. Each wedge is a very good size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid Alma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: La Pine, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Loved the basic and simple recipe. My first scones ever and will definitely innovate and keep baking. I used cashew nuts.Soft and light. Thank You for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This has become my go-to recipe for scones, they have the lightness and texture that I really love. And you can mix in practically anything: so far, for sweet scones I have made blueberry & cream cheese, strawberry & cream cheese, chocolate chip, cinnamon chip, raspberry, blackberry, currant, and banana. For savory scones I omitted the sugar and made cheddar & chive, cheddar & jalapeno, Italian sausage, bell pepper & mozzarella, and even curry chicken (yes!). The savory scones go perfectly with a bowl of soup. I highly recommend this scone recipe, but at the same time I urge you to try your own flavor combinations, this recipe is very forgiving and takes anything you throw at it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Tried these and they were wonderful, disappeared in 2 seconds. Great for unexpected visitors. added cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and the dough was far too gloppy to form a proper scone or biscuit. Made a pretty good muffin, but not what I look for in an authentic scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northlake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westmont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I make this recipe often, because my British hubby grew up having scones for tea every day. Lately I've been dipping them in sugar before baking. It becomes more like a Snickerdoodle that way. I was doing the eggwash and a sprinkle of sugar as shown in the video, but just dipping them in sugar is easier and looks better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written (because I think that's how these recipes should be reviewed) and I was very happy with the results: good flavor, good texture (not too dry, not too moist), easy to handle dough, baked up according to directions. I will keep this recipe on file and make again. They are easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AURA5195
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
These were great! Very scone-like and just the perfect touch of sweetness. I followed the recipe exactly except that I pulled them out a couple minutes earlier than called for as mine were a little thinner. Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States