Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and the dough was far too gloppy to form a proper scone or biscuit. Made a pretty good muffin, but not what I look for in an authentic scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northlake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westmont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I make this recipe often, because my British hubby grew up having scones for tea every day. Lately I've been dipping them in sugar before baking. It becomes more like a Snickerdoodle that way. I was doing the eggwash and a sprinkle of sugar as shown in the video, but just dipping them in sugar is easier and looks better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written (because I think that's how these recipes should be reviewed) and I was very happy with the results: good flavor, good texture (not too dry, not too moist), easy to handle dough, baked up according to directions. I will keep this recipe on file and make again. They are easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AURA5195
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
These were great! Very scone-like and just the perfect touch of sweetness. I followed the recipe exactly except that I pulled them out a couple minutes earlier than called for as mine were a little thinner. Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This was the first time I made scones. I shredded the butter by cheese grater to mix in dough, and reduced the sugar using only brown sugar. I split the dough and made half with about 1/2 cup golden raisins and chopped pecans, then sprinkled with chopped pecans. The other half i added about 1/2 cup cheddar cheese, couple tablespoons of chives, and couple tablespoons of bacon. Delicious! The husband and son ate all the pecan ones, the cheddar chive bacon need more tweaking. We will make these again! Great recipe, easy to follow and I had all the ingredients in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
AWESOME! I used Half and half though and also only added the milk/egg mixture until it formed a cookie like dough. Very easy to roll out! I made these for "hands around the world" or "World Thinking day" A Girl scout event celebrating countries. Our troop did England and we made them! most of the kids liked them but all of the adults raved about how good they were and even came back for seconds! yummy! I will say though that I think the key is only adding enough liquid that it makes the dough wet and looks like cookie dough. Glad I read that from other reviews first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
They really are delish and exactly like british scones. - We did cheat and add an extra 1/4 c of butter & 1 tsp of vanilla. We cut the dough in small rounds with a cookie cutter and froze them. We brushed the tops with 1/2 & 1/2 and sprinkled with sugar and baked them frozen. Our girlscout troop just made these for World Thinking Day and added chocolate chunks and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe! I used the exact ingredients along with cinnamon and vanilla extract. They taste amazing! The recipe called for eight but they looked huge when I cut them into wedges, so I made them a but smaller and got a dozen scones; they are still huge! I will be making more of these in a wider variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is a great recipe! I only needed a few so took advantage of the custom feature and made 4- Totally made this in the food processor and just gathered and rolled and made 4 scones for breakfast-I added a handful of golden raisins to the dough and baked as directed-Perfect scones and much cheaper than eating out-I did cheat and had clotted cream and jam but extremely satisfying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I halved the recipe - perfect 8 scones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States