Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This recipe would be OK but it calls waaaay too much baking powder. I used half the amount and the scones came out fine. Also, be careful and don't add the entire egg/milk mixture, because then your dough will be too wet. Add just a little at a time until the dough sticks together but is still a little "crumbly". Should be a little less than half the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Unlike most reviews I made a batch true to the recipe. I was looking for something to have with the blueberry preserves I made last night. I am gobsmacked. Three are fluffy and delicate. First serving I had I also used butter with the preserves but I didn't need it. These are perfect on their own hot or cold as well. Seriously fantastic treat that I know I will be making often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanny Snowflake
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Delicious recipe! I made NO changes when I made this, and they had a wonderful flavor. They are very moist and rise beautifully. Be sure not to overknead the dough. Besides becoming very brown on the bottom (which is very likely due to my pan), I definitely plan on making them again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanny Snowflake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is a fabulous scone recipe! It makes me laugh a little that some reviews are disappointed at how plain these scones are. This is a really nice, traditional scone recipe. I find they are great with raspberry jam, or lemon curd... There is so much butter in the recipe, I haven't felt the need to add any more. I will have to try them with clotted cream one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
These are delicious. I have made this at least 15 times and they are always delicious. I took another reviewers hint and instead of the whole cup of milk do 1/2 cup OJ and 1/3 cup milk. Also I have to make sure you follow the directions exactly and old add the liquid until the flour mix is moist. I also add some craisins. I split the dough in half before I cut into 8 wedges (so it makes 16). That is just a personal preference as they seemed a little too big before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Definitely put your egg in the measuring cup & top up with milk or cream to 1cup. 1cup plus the egg is too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Loved it. I added cinnamon, vanilla and dates. I topped them with honey butter when they came out of the oven. Family loved them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane McCreight

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I live somewhere very dry and hot. That means that pretty much anything baked becomes really dry, really quickly. I watched the video on how to make these scones and did exactly as the video said. The scones turned out FANTASTIC. The only difference was that I had to bake them for an additional 6 minutes because I baked them on a pizza stone (this helps to evenly distribute the heat, so that the bottoms are as golden brown as the tops!) I will definitely return to this recipe, and maybe add some chocolate chips next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arianna Vacca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IttyBritty
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Didn't have all purpose flour so i mixed bread flour with wheat flour and had great texture and fluffiness. I left out the salt so it could be more dessert-like. Also, I wasnt able to roll out my dough! For some reason it was wayyy too sticky and loose.. So I just spooned it into muffin pans and filled the dough with strawberry jam. They came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I made these scones for the first time today WOW! I have to say Jillian thx for the idea of grating the butter in that is the best tip I think I've heard in eons! I made cinnamon and raisin scones yummy! I also used all half and half.... I have noticed in other recipes that where I used 1/2,1/2 instead of milk that breads where light and fluffy same here! Try it in corn bread! One other step I did was an egg wash just before baking to give it that really nice brown look. I am now hooked! Thank you Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States