Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Excellent! Works at high altitude (above 5,000 feet) too. I had to add another cup of flour as the dough was far too wet and patted the dough into a round shape on a plate instead of using a rolling pin. Because I'm at 5,000+ feet, I had the oven at 400F for roughly 10 minutes, then baked until they were done at 375F, to prevent them burning. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Amazing! I added a little extra butter, and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I've used this recipe numerous times. I always brush with milk and sprinkle sugar on the tops just before placing in the oven. I like them with a little vanilla added to the liquids. It gives them a little something extra. My kids love these, either plain or with some butter and sometimes with jam. Definitely a hit in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
These scones are fantastic! First time I ever made them and they came out perfect. I followed other reviews and added milk to egg, then added wet mixture as needed. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla to the egg and it added just the right amount of flavor! Will definetely make again, we had a proper English cream tea with these scones, I used a cup and made them round like the picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Great recipe! As others noted, I added the liquid a little bit at a time until the dough was moist. I didn't use all the liquid. I divided my dough into two sections, the egg into 2 halves, and then made two kinds of scone. One was cinnamon raisin (I also added vanilla) and one was cranberry orange (I used half orange juice and half milk). Both came out delicious, very moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Great with semi-sweet chocolate chips. Made 12 large round scones. Followed other reviewers advice to beat egg inside of measuring cup then add milk until liquid reached 1 cup. Consistency was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I added chopped pecans and sprinkled with sugar and cinnamon, quite simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Wow, these came out wonderfully! I did add a cup of raspberries to mine, as well as an egg wash and a sprinkling of white sugar over the top. They are so light and fluffy and flaky, this will be my new go to scone recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Light and fluffy! I just did mine with cinnamon, spices and brown sugar and they turned out quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I had to give this 4 starts because I didn't follow the recipe to the T. I only had bread flour and had to substitute the baking powder with baking soda. They still came out pretty yummy. I made half plain and half with chocolate chips. The dough was a little sticky so my scones looks more like drop biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masa Bamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States