Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
these scones tastes powerfully like baking soda. Very fluffy,and cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I used alternative flour (rice w/guar gum and tapioca mix), xylitol instead of sugar and almond milk instead of dairy. They turned out great -except that I can really taste the baking powder...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tsawwassen, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by emilyjcole
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Delicious! I followed tips in other reviews and they turned out perfectly. I intended to make these with blueberries and vanilla extract but accidentally used lemon extract instead -- it was definitely a happy accident! They were fantastic! I used frozen blueberries and only let them thaw at room temperature for about 10 minutes, then folded them into the mixture. That way, they remain whole and don't turn the entire batter blue and explode while baking. I made a simple sugar glaze (confectioner's sugar, vanilla extract & milk) & drizzled on top, but they really didn't need it. Will definitely bookmark this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
AWESOME SHORTCAKES!!! I made these, exactly as described, except I didn't roll the dough. I dropped 12 mounds on a cookie sheet and baked as directed. These were excellent strawberry and peach shortcakes - the best I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I have been using this as my customized scone base recipe for years and just love it!!! The scones are very moist, not dry like a traditional European scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
So simple with ingredients that I already had! I added about a cup of frozen blueberries and frozen strawberries, which made them take about 10 minutes longer, but made them so moist and delicious! I reduced the butter to 1/2 a cup without a problem. They are also huge scones, with all that baking powder, and very fluffy. Definitely will be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Yum! I did half heavy cream half one percent and added slivered almonds and frozen raspberries. They were delicious. I might think about cutting the liquid down a little next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starfish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Recipe was easy to follow and I took other reviewers advice about adding the egg / milk slowly until moist. I only needed about half the liquid. My mum is recovering from surgery and she loves afternoon tea. I decided to treat her by making scones. They came out beautifully and they were a real hit with the family. So easy and quick to make and smelled wonderful when baking. Only needed that in the oven for about 10-12 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
What did I do wrong? They looked great and smelled good, but tasted too strongly of baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dairyfreemom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Delicious! I made a few modifications. Instead of 3/4 C butter, I used 1/4 C butter and 1/4 C olive oil and it lead to the perfect consistency. I also used 1/2 C milk and 1/2 C half and half. Finally, I brushed the top of the scones with egg before putting in the oven with gave them a shiny browned top. Then I decided to make a glaze with some confectioners sugar, almond extract, and a dash of milk. These paired great with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States