Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Easy to make, quick. You can do a lot with this recipe - I added cinnamon, current, and almonds to mine. I took them out right after 15 minutes and they seemed a little doughy but they set up really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
FANTASTIC! This recipe was great! Its super-simple, and fun too! We had them for breakfast and dessert. We didn't have white sugar so we used brown, and the dough turned out a bit darker but they still tasted really good, and we didn't even add fruit. This is a great recipe if you just feel like having some scones because its super easy and quick. I also think that they would taste great with cranberries or raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
fantastic! Light and fluffy and rose beautifully. I think next time I'll use less sugar - and maybe add some little extras just for fun. Overall, very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
VERY EASY TO MAKE, I made it with a few variations. I used half and half, a dash of cinnamon, I kneaded with my mixer hook for 2 minutes, I topped with egg wash and a little bit of tornado sugar on top. Decreased the temperature to 385 degrees because the first bash burned at the bottom. One thing I noticed that the texture is more like a biscuit that is a scone. In the end they came out delicious, they melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lunasj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Used dark brown sugar in place of white, 3/4 cup of milk added maple syrup to make 1 cup and added scor bits...rave reviews from friends and family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This makes one VERY LARGE BATCH, be prepared. One recommendation suggested 3 tea of baking powder & 2 tea of baking soda, & adding one egg with enough milk to make 1 Cup. The consistency was great. I added 3/4 C walnuts & 3/4 C cranberries. I did pat it out and it was too soft to cut so I froze it for 10 minutes & it sliced perfectly. Cut into 12 scones the servings were a more reasonable size and calorie value. Will make again, but probably half the recipe next time. They puffed up so beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Just tried two batches of this recipe, the only thing I changed was that I added an extra egg. It came out super!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This worked great first time out. I used all the butter but skim milk since this is all I ever buy. Used a whole cup and didn't find recipe too wet at all since you must knead in more flour. Added a small package of Craisins without even chopping them. Simply delicious. My husband wants me to try lemon zest and ginger next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Super fluffy and delicious! They always come out perfect and it's an amazingly simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmay23
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
These are so good! I followed the recipe exact. After adding the milk it's pretty wet so I just used extra flour when kneading. The scones were huge so next time I'll divide the dough in half and cut each into 8 to make 16! I ate them with jelly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States