Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Great! My fiancée loves this recipe. I always cut the added white sugar to 1/4 or 2/5 cup, and have started replacing with brown sugar. You can do all sorts of things with it: let me suggest adding dried blueberries to the base recipe. Or canned blueberries in water/light syrup and replacing some of the milk with the blueberry juice. I keep using this base recipe and toying around with it. One hint: don't dally once you've added the baking powder. Getting them in the over right away will make for fluffier scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Guerra
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
These were great. My family simply loved it. This will definitely be a regular at our table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Delicious. We had just gone toThe Peninsula for afternoon tea and was craving scones. My 12 yo daughter loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This is only the second time I have made scones and this recipe is the best ever!!! The last time I used a different recipe and I am so glad that I finally found this recipe...absolutely delicious. I followed all others advice and measured the egg and milk together, so that both together would equal 1 cup. I also added Hazelnut creamer instead of milk just as an experiment. Either would be great. The only thing I will mention is: don't freak out that the dough is very sticky like I did. I trusted the recipe and left the dough sticky when I rolled them into a ball and baked them. Do not add any more flour than the 3 cups - they were truly great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This recipe is fantastic. I've tried it twice, so far. Once with 2 tsps of cinnamon and a second time as is. I followed the advice of other reviews and included the egg into the 1 cup of milk. Both versions were delicious. I am looking forward to adding to this recipe, it seems very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkySheppard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Enica
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Excellent! My boys and I were making scones for the first time and we keep coming back with customization. These are our Milk and White Chocolate Vanilla Scones based on your recipe. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Simple and delicious! I'm going to try adding some dried fruit next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StillSwirling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I never made a scone in my life (in fact I don't do all that much baking beyond cookies and an occasional cake). We had just returned from a trip to Ireland and scones were on the breakfast menu everywhere we went. When we got home my wife was lamenting that she missed the scones so I thought I would give it a whirl. The dough is sticky and tough to work with and I thought I screwed up the recipe, but man these were as good as any we had across the pond! Thanks for sharing. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdirondackKid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saranac Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
i have this exact recipe my friend gave to me and i found it to be dry..so i have been looking up other scones to see if i can add anything diffrant and the next time im gonna try the one with sour cream i hope its not as dry this is very good just a lil dry for my tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States