Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
The recipe as written creates a dough which is too wet and crumbly, resulting in very fragile biscuits. Way too much baking powder resulted in, as someone else mentioned, a very pancake-like end product. Next time I'll reduce the baking powder and liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abbey
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I wish I could give 10 stars! I was intimidated by scones, but I don't know why because this was so quick and easy! Same concept as making biscuits...make sure your butter is very cold when you cut it in. It's very important to know that you will not necessarily need to use the entire cup of milk or the entire egg...beat them together and pour it into the flour mixture in small amounts, just until your batter comes together. I threw out nearly half a cup of mixture. These produced big, beautiful, fluffy, tender, gorgeous scones!! I topped mine with a cinnamon glaze. Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I made this for my sister's bridal shower party and it was a huge hit! Everyone loved it. I added dried currants to mine and brushed the top of the scone with some half and half cream and some white sugar before baking. It was delightful! I also reduced the amount of sugar used by 1/4 since the crowd didn't have a huge sweet tooth. The recipe still turned out great. I'll definitely be using this recipe again moving forward!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by euuz
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
For me it went great. Lovely scones, maybe they would be better if you add some flavor like lemon, orange, chocolate, nuts or vanilla or so. But cool recipe, thanks! Just one small issue the servings turned out like a lot, it says for 12 and i came up with like 30 at least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
These were great! I have to admit, it did not go well the first time I tried... Blame it on the otherwise brilliant recipe which isn't quite clear enough if you ask me. No need to add the whole milk/egg mix, you just need to add some until the dough is right (moist). If you add it all (like I did at first), you're just going to end up with a very buttery muffin batter... Once you get that, you are good for cream tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
The recipe was good but a few suggestions. After you cut in the butter, slowly mix the egg/milk mixture just a little at a time. You only need about half the mixture. You also do not want to roll out the dough too thin. If you're using a gas oven, you need to roll it to more than half an inch thickness. If you don't, the bottoms get burnt and the edges will be hard as a rock. I would also brush on some butter to the top of the scone for a more browned and buttery top. For being a simple scone recipe, these were fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EJ Gallimore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Wow never made scones before and they have turned out beautifully. Will definitely use recipe again and share with friends. Used single cream instead of milk and the only hint I would give is to mix the liquid slowly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Everyone loves this recipe. Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
The recipe comes together easily but for some reason, this comes out with a slight bitterness the two times I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This recipe would be OK but it calls waaaay too much baking powder. I used half the amount and the scones came out fine. Also, be careful and don't add the entire egg/milk mixture, because then your dough will be too wet. Add just a little at a time until the dough sticks together but is still a little "crumbly". Should be a little less than half the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States