Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
My husband said it's VERY GOOD. He's a fan of scones for 30 years now. So he knows, if it's really good. Thank you for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
I followed the recipe, but cut in the butter after the liquid by accident. they still turned out great! I cut the butter into tiny cubes and left lots of lumps....apparently this is a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Awesome! They are easy to make and I put in dried cranberries... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I tested several scone recipes, including "World's Best", "Best Scones Ever", etc. This recipe beat them all. I did follow the tip of putting the egg in a measuring cup, then adding milk up to the 1 cup measure. Worked like a charm. I divided the dough in half and rolled it into 2 rounds 3/4" thick instead of 1/2". I cut half with a 2" biscuit cutter and left them plain. I added orange zest and dried cranberries to the other half and cut the dough into 8 wedges. I liked having a different shape for each flavor. The wedges were so quick to cut, with no waste and no rerolling that can toughen the scones. People loved them. My scone search is over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
This is hands down the easiest and best scone recipe I've ever used! I always try to make things healthier if possible, and I was a bit reluctant to change this recipe given the excellent reviews. So instead of all white flour, I used two cups whole wheat flour and one cup white flour. I also added 1-1/2 cups cranberries and 1/2 cup walnuts. Because of the whole wheat flour, I didn't' want to knead, so I just mixed well in the bowl. I also dropped them in mounds instead of slicing into wedges. They turned out scrumptious! A little too good, as I ate two of them five minutes out of the oven, then froze the rest. Thanks for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
These are great but I'd recommend adding a full cup of sugar instead of half a cup and about 1/4 cup half and half with 3/4 cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
These scones are very light compared to other recipes I've tried. I added 1.5 teasponns cinnamon to the dry ingredients, followed the recipe as written except for using advice to top off the egg with milk to 1 cup, then hand folded in blueberries to use up seasonal fruit. I quartered, then cut in thirds the dough to get 12 scones. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Mine never turned golden brown but oh my they were wonderful! So good! Next time I think I'll add some blueberries : D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Campbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Texas, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
These turned out beautifully, my daughter got up early and made these for me on Mother's Day. Moments likes these are exactly why I keep clotted cream and lemon curd in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Grost

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
just great, easy and wonderful scones . i add orange peel or a touch of vanilla taste and some time fruit or cranberries .I change every tinme but alwways the same result : perfect! I love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States