Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
These just turned out wonderful. I used some of the tricks I read and they were perfect. I added two tsp of cinnamon and I put the egg in the measuring cup then added 1/2 milk and 1/2 half and half cream and the dough consistency was perfect. I added raisins and almonds to mine. When I took the dough from the bowl, it was crumbly, but I was able to easly mold it into a dough ball and flatten it and cut it into about 12 good size scones. I also added a bit of lemon zest.... If people had dough that was too wet, they really need to try putting the egg in the measuring cup first, then adding the milk. If you want quick easy scones, this recipe is for you!!! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
481 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Melvindale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
Wow, these scones were really good! This was the first time I ever made scones, but not my boyfriend- he gave me a really good tip: see, I was confused and thought that I was supposed to add the entire egg/ milk mixture to the dough, but instead, he said to just add enough of it so that the dough be moistened (We only used about half of the egg/ milk mixture). Oh yeah, and you have to add it only a little bit at a time, and work the dough each time after you add it. That way, you can tell how moistened it is. I know this is what the recipe says to do, but what i THOUGHT the directions said was to add the whole mixture and keep mixing until it was moistened. It was good the way my boyfriend taught me to do it. We added enough cinamin so that the dough was a very very light brown. We added to the dough BEFORE we put the egg/ milk in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
455 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
Very light and absolutely DELICIOUS! I used about 1/4 cup of half-n-half and 3/4 cup of milk. I also recommend using the food processor to combine the flour mixture and butter. I put 1/2 of the flour mixture into the processor at a time and just used a light pulse to incorporate the butter into the flour. I then put the butter and flour mixture into a large bowl and stirred in the egg mixture. One thing that I don't recommend is using the drop method for these scones. The texture was much better when I added a little more flour to roll out, then kneaded a couple times and patted down into a circle and made scone wedges. Happy baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
Wonderful! I've added fresh chopped cranberries and orange zest/juice.Orange glaze. I've made pumpkin scones with cinnamon glaze. Every altered recipe using this base has been a hit. To avoid dough being too wet I crack the egg in the measuring cup first, then measure to one cup milk or half & half over the egg. Seems to come out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
A+++ We made orange cranberry scones and they turned out delicious. I just wish they lasted longer, they managed to disappear really fast. Instead of 1 cup milk, We added 1/2 cup fresh OJ, 1/3 cup milk and added cranberries (dried sweetened or fresh cooked in sugar)then glazed them with an OJ/powdered sugar glaze. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
AMAZING! These scones are fantastic, and they're so easy to make. I've made them twice in the last twenty four hours, and got rave reviews each time. I added vanilla and two teaspoons cinnamon, because cinnamon rocks, and some walnuts. Also, I sprinkled brown sugar on top, but these are all personal preferences. They were great the first time when I followed the recipe exactly. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Very simple recipe. I cut the butter down to 1/2 c. and froze it first then grated it into the flour mixture. It's easier to work with that way. I used 3 tsp. of baking powder, 1 tsp. of baking soda, and 1 tsp. of cream of tartar. I also used half and half instead of milk. I did half plain and half with raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
I needed an English dish to take to a multi-cultural food tasting party at my daughter's school. I came across this recipe and decided to give it a try. When I made the trial batch, my kids said, "Oooh! Let's make these all the time!" That was enough convincing for me to make them for my daughter's class. I served them with strawberry jelly and hot tea, and they were a hit!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I come from England, and haven't eaten scones since moving to America. I have looked for a while for a recipe and this one sounded the closest to how I remember my mother making them. I have to say, they were delicious. The taste and texture were exactly how I remembered. Traditionally in UK, scones are round like American biscuits, so I used a biscuit cutter to make them and ended up with double the yield as a result. I also added raisins, which is a common variation in UK. They can be enjoyed as they are or cut in half with jam and/or butter, but the best way to eat them is with jam and cream! If they are made correctly, they are certain to stick to the roof of your mouth as you eat them so it's always a good idea to have a drink with them - preferably, steaming cup of English tea! All in all, an excellent recipe. Very simple to follow and with delicious results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
VERY GOOD!! They were very good and tasted like real scones. Next time I am adding blueberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States