Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This makes one VERY LARGE BATCH, be prepared. One recommendation suggested 3 tea of baking powder & 2 tea of baking soda, & adding one egg with enough milk to make 1 Cup. The consistency was great. I added 3/4 C walnuts & 3/4 C cranberries. I did pat it out and it was too soft to cut so I froze it for 10 minutes & it sliced perfectly. Cut into 12 scones the servings were a more reasonable size and calorie value. Will make again, but probably half the recipe next time. They puffed up so beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Just tried two batches of this recipe, the only thing I changed was that I added an extra egg. It came out super!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This worked great first time out. I used all the butter but skim milk since this is all I ever buy. Used a whole cup and didn't find recipe too wet at all since you must knead in more flour. Added a small package of Craisins without even chopping them. Simply delicious. My husband wants me to try lemon zest and ginger next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Super fluffy and delicious! They always come out perfect and it's an amazingly simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmay23
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
These are so good! I followed the recipe exact. After adding the milk it's pretty wet so I just used extra flour when kneading. The scones were huge so next time I'll divide the dough in half and cut each into 8 to make 16! I ate them with jelly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Overall, these tasted very good. However, The sizes of them are HUGE. Definitely make the scones smaller than suggested. Otherwise, they turn out great. They're soft, crispy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This is an excellent recipe, very easy and quick. I reduced the milk to 3/4 c, and the consistency was perfect! The taste is just right! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
We used this recipe and added lemon zest and lemon juice from 3 lemons they turned out great and at 15 minutes they where perfectly golden brown. For shore a 5 star recipe. And I recommenced it to all it is a easy recipe and is delicious! *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I made this morning and added some boysenberries from my garden. I wish I hadn't wasted boysenberries... they tasted more like biscuits, too doughy/floury flavored for my taste, the husband turned them away too. Maybe adding more sugar would have helped? I wont be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
These were wonderful, and turned out perfectly! I added the egg to the measuring cup, and poured in the milk until it reached a cup, as per other review. Perfection! I might make it a wee bit less sweet next time, but lovely how it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States