Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Donna Nugent
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This was the best recipe I have found. Amazingly light. I added 1 Tbspn Lemon Flavoring. Very very pleased. Family loved it, too. Thank you...this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I like how simple this recipe is. First time i did this, it was like a very thick batter consistency. It tasted really good but looked like bread lumps. I just made a batch today and used 3/4 cup egg+milk. Threw in some dried cranberries and walnuts. Now it's a coffee shop-worthy batch of scones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cainta, Rizal, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Wonderful....added raisins to some, dried cranberries to others....brushed tops with milk and sprinkled decorator sugar...looked awesome, tasted GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulubretired

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I've been using a different scone recipe on this site, but several weeks ago I decided to try this one.. I've made this about 5 times now! One batch I added in cheddar and bacon..yummmm! This is my now go to recipe, as is, and as a base to add in. Only thing I suggest, is for a savory scone such as the cheddar and bacon, is to decrease the sugar a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Busy_mom
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
These were amazing! I loved how light and fluffy they were. I added orange zest, cranberries, and dark chocolate chunks. Like other users, I mixed the egg and milk together,and slowly poured them into the dry ingredients until just moistened . I will be using this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Best scone recipe I have ever tried. Not too sweet, but not dry and just the right amount of fluff! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I added some mini chocolate chips and 2 tsp coco powder kids and hubby loved'em!! Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Never made these before. Followed the recipe exact and it came out so good. I like it because it's not sweet. I guess I would cut down on the butter somewhat next time. They bake up real fast so you have to watch that they don't burn....mine were done in about 10 minutes. Used the food processer to cut the butter into the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ossining, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
replace butter with 1/2 c melted coconut oil, use tepid milk to keep the coconut oil soft, increase sugar to 2/3 c, add 1/4 c chopped almonds, 1 tsp almond extract, 1/4 c chopped craisins, 1/4 c old fashioned rolled oats, 1 Tbsp grated orange rind then remove pith and chop orange and add. Mix together well. Dough will be sticky. Put out onto cooking sheet and shape into 2" high flat round. Bake for 25 minutes. After baking, drizzle with glaze. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Midvale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
These scones were amazing! I am very glad I tried these. I used cake/pastry flour instead of all-purpose because the only other type of flour I had was wholemeal and I wasn't sure how they would turn out with that. Not sure how much of a difference it made, but they turned out great and tasted excellent. They were incredibly simple and quick to make, which definitely boosts its rating in my book. Tasted good with some leftover chocolate frosting, too! I will have to try them with wholemeal flour next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States