Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Very tasty in the end but I had to add quite a bit more flour to be able to knead and roll out the dough. It was way too sticky with all that milk. However after altering that slightly they came out beautifully and I got 16 scones from it not 8!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anneliese999

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Maidstone, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: Valencia, Communidad Valenciana, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
i made this for the first time and my batter wouldnt let me knead it. It was to moist. So, I change it up and poured it all in a baking dish and baked for 20 mins. It turned out delicious and I added jam on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowergirl1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I just made these for my family. I doubled the recipe though so the cook time was longer (an extra 15 min). I still have scones left only because we ran out of jam. So far they can't seem to get enough. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Light and fluffy inside with a sort of crispy outside. My sister and I loved it. Followed the instructions, but at the end I added some craisins and a tablespoon of orange zest, along with a tablespoon of orange juice and a tablespoon of the juice in the maraschino cherry jar, and this recipe worked perfect. Even my neighbour thinks they're wonderful! I'm sure even without what I added, it would be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Easy to make. I could have easily gotten 16 scones instead of 8 as they are big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Great with tea! The scones are flaky and buttery, though I would cut back on the butter a bit and maybe cut it up into smaller chunks or grate them as one reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I started using this recipe over a year ago and it has never failed me. Friends rave over them and will flock to my door if I'm announcing I'm making a batch. Love love LOVE these scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I made these exactly to recipe. They baked up beautifully and looked great, but they had a real bitter taste. I don't know if it was too much baking powder or what. I may try again with less baking powder. 5 t sounds like a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Fabulous scones! Several friends declared them the best scones they had ever had. I make them exactly as written, adding all of the milk and egg mixture. I don't alter the recipe even though I am at 4600 feet. I also add about 1-2 cups chopped apricots to the mixture. I top them with a pureed apricot/butter/powdered sugar glaze. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
These scones are delicious. I definitely recommend adding the egg/milk mixture slowly - I used a little more than 1/2 of it and the scones were perfectly mixed. Also, when cut into 8 wedges they came out huge! Next time I'll make 10 or 12 so they're a normal size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States