Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I don't get it... everytime I make this my mixture is wet and runny... I end up dropping the dough by tablespoonfuls on my stoneware and baking them that way. They do taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msgalfriend
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
These are so delicious I can't believe how yummy they are. Instead of 1 cup milk I to used 1/2 cup of 1% low fat milk with 1/2 cup of fat free half n half, and I also added chocolate chips. For the finishing touch before the oven I spread the scones with egg and sprinkled with sugar. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Easy to make. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Even though I put the egg in the meashuring cup first (with the milk) mine were way too wet. I had to add a LOT more flour (about 10 tablespoons) to fix it. I put strawberrys in my scones (i had to thaw them) but the juice made it wet again so I had to add more flour. It made 18 scones with a glass for a cookie cutter (instead of triangles). i also added a mixture of lemon juice and powdered sugar on top. it turned out ok but I would use less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
delicious, but definitely an intermediate level of baking required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
it didnt get to the consistency i wanted until i added more flour but overall a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
In the end I think I added a bit more sugar with some cinnamon in it, and mix in some dried cranberries. It's not like me to eat desserts, so I served it to my family and they seemed to like it very much! So glad I could find a BASIC and EASY recipes for scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Great recipe! I used 1 tbs of baking powder and added milk as needed (probably used a little more than 3/4 cup). Instead of rolling and cutting the dough, I used a large ice cream scoop and scooped them right onto a cookie sheet. They came out great! I added chocolate chips this time, can't wait to try them again with something different. The possibilities are endless...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KatrinaAlice
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I'm giving this 5 stars because its a great base recipe, and that's what makes it great, people can be creative with it. Since I've never made scones before I tested this out with just half the recipe. It made 10 big scones, I don't know how the full recipe could only make 8. I subbed 1/3 the flour with wheat & the milk with soy milk. I didn't bother rolling out the dough, I just grabbed handfuls and dropped them on my pan. I also added cut strawberries & a handful of chocolate chips. My scones turned out amazing, though they needed18-20 minutes to cook. Next time I'm going to try using apple sauce instead of butter to cut down on calories and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I found that this recipe had a little too much baking powder, so I took it down to 4 teaspoons of baking power. I also added dried cranberries for a tasty twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States