Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Loved it! I did it all in a food processor making minimal mess. I added about 1/2 t. fresh ground nutmeg to the dry ingredients and added dried cranberries at the end. On the second batch, I was in a hurry and forgot the egg. Guess what, it came out great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I have made these scones so many times - they are a favourite in our house. I ran out of milk one time and had to use cream - turned out fabulous! But not good for the waist line!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made these as my first scone attempt ever, and the recipe was easy to follow. I added chocolate chips and caramel chips, for a sort of desserty biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
amazingly good! the family loved them. I added 1 mashed banana and brown sugar to the tops before baking. loved them and will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeekendChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
These turned out great! I added a cup of blueberries as I was kneading it and added pink sprinkles! My kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
A great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7 Garcias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provincetown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I've never eaten a scone, let alone baked them. I do know that people have different preferences in terms of texture, and these may not be the traditional "sconey" texture. But I have to say that these were absolutely fantastic! I followed the advice of those before who suggested keeping the baking powder at about 1 1/2 tsp, and using less milk, and they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
These were the first scones I have ever made and they were great. I added cinnamon and raisins. They were a great texture and not too sweet. If you would like smaller scones, I would suggest dividing the dough into two balls before rolling into a 1/2" round. You would then get 16 regular sized scones instead of 8 large ones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Point Edward, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is a very good recipe with some modifications. The first time, I made them exactly as listed (except with butter flavored Crisco instead of butter) and found them to be a bit crumbly and could taste the baking powder in them. So I subbed half & half for milk but only used 3/4 C. I used margarine the second time and the texture was better. Not sure how they would be with butter (probably great). Instead of 5t baking powder, I used 3t baking powder, 1t baking soda and 1t cream of tartar. I also added a little more salt, just a pinch. I added 1 C dried cranberries & orange-flavored raisins and some orange peel (probably about 1T). I also added 1t vanilla a 2t cinnamon. Then I made a glaze for them, which made ALL the difference. I used 1t vanilla and 1T milk. I added powdered sugar and milk until it was a good consistency (thick but not as thick as icing). I tried to use a glaze recipe I found on here, but it was WAY too runny, so I just kept adding more and more powdered sugar until it was thick enough. Try the glaze addition. It really does make a difference. :) With the additional ingredients, I found that I needed to cook them longer b/c they rose more and were chewy in the middle. So I reduced the temp to 350 and cooked an additional 10 min, but play with it. The cool thing about this recipe is that it's easy, so you can make a batch and then make alterations. Next time I'll use this recipe to make mini vanilla scones like at Starbucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
What a wonderful recipe. Easy, quick, tasty and goes great with both sweet and savory garnishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isla HoMeMakR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States