Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
These were the first scones I have ever made and they were great. I added cinnamon and raisins. They were a great texture and not too sweet. If you would like smaller scones, I would suggest dividing the dough into two balls before rolling into a 1/2" round. You would then get 16 regular sized scones instead of 8 large ones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Point Edward, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is a very good recipe with some modifications. The first time, I made them exactly as listed (except with butter flavored Crisco instead of butter) and found them to be a bit crumbly and could taste the baking powder in them. So I subbed half & half for milk but only used 3/4 C. I used margarine the second time and the texture was better. Not sure how they would be with butter (probably great). Instead of 5t baking powder, I used 3t baking powder, 1t baking soda and 1t cream of tartar. I also added a little more salt, just a pinch. I added 1 C dried cranberries & orange-flavored raisins and some orange peel (probably about 1T). I also added 1t vanilla a 2t cinnamon. Then I made a glaze for them, which made ALL the difference. I used 1t vanilla and 1T milk. I added powdered sugar and milk until it was a good consistency (thick but not as thick as icing). I tried to use a glaze recipe I found on here, but it was WAY too runny, so I just kept adding more and more powdered sugar until it was thick enough. Try the glaze addition. It really does make a difference. :) With the additional ingredients, I found that I needed to cook them longer b/c they rose more and were chewy in the middle. So I reduced the temp to 350 and cooked an additional 10 min, but play with it. The cool thing about this recipe is that it's easy, so you can make a batch and then make alterations. Next time I'll use this recipe to make mini vanilla scones like at Starbucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
What a wonderful recipe. Easy, quick, tasty and goes great with both sweet and savory garnishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isla HoMeMakR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Very tasty in the end but I had to add quite a bit more flour to be able to knead and roll out the dough. It was way too sticky with all that milk. However after altering that slightly they came out beautifully and I got 16 scones from it not 8!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anneliese999

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Maidstone, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: Valencia, Communidad Valenciana, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
i made this for the first time and my batter wouldnt let me knead it. It was to moist. So, I change it up and poured it all in a baking dish and baked for 20 mins. It turned out delicious and I added jam on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowergirl1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I just made these for my family. I doubled the recipe though so the cook time was longer (an extra 15 min). I still have scones left only because we ran out of jam. So far they can't seem to get enough. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Light and fluffy inside with a sort of crispy outside. My sister and I loved it. Followed the instructions, but at the end I added some craisins and a tablespoon of orange zest, along with a tablespoon of orange juice and a tablespoon of the juice in the maraschino cherry jar, and this recipe worked perfect. Even my neighbour thinks they're wonderful! I'm sure even without what I added, it would be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Easy to make. I could have easily gotten 16 scones instead of 8 as they are big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Great with tea! The scones are flaky and buttery, though I would cut back on the butter a bit and maybe cut it up into smaller chunks or grate them as one reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I started using this recipe over a year ago and it has never failed me. Friends rave over them and will flock to my door if I'm announcing I'm making a batch. Love love LOVE these scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 597) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States