Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Fabulous! Used almost all the milk/egg mixture and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I gave this recipe 5 stars because I changed NOTHING! I've actually been making this very recipe for years and it really is perfect. It comes out the same way every time, which is good because I make them for my Mom every time she visits and I have to make extra to send them home with her. The only complaint I have is that once you eat them... They're gone ;) A long over due thanks to you Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I followed the recipe as written, beating the egg in a one cup measuring cup and then adding milk to the top as suggested by other reviewers. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla and a couple teaspoons cinnamon to the dry ingredients. When I added the wet ingredients to the dry I also added about 1 c blueberries. The dough doesn't hold together at first; be careful not to overwork or you get tough scones. I cut into triangles and froze on a cookie sheet then baked the next morning for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. They were great for breakfast! I also made a glaze with lemon juice and powdered sugar and drizzled that on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
AMAZING!!!! Do not change a thing, you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmarie617

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Very good, I put these into my recipe box and will make them again. I used light brown sugar instead of white and I also topped them with brown sugar. I used the full amount of egg and milk because I wanted the dough soft because I was adding fresh blueberries and wanted the berries firm and whole after folding them in. Since the dough was sticky and soft I dropped them onto a silicon baking sheet and smoothed them down with a wet spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Amazing! Moist, sweet and extremely easy to make! I also made a few changes: 3/4 cup of sugar instead of 1/2 cup and instead of using a rolling pin, I rolled them with my hands into small flat balls and baked them (Since I could not find my rolling pin!) Still they turned out excellent! The best recipe for scones that I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I was asked to make 8 dozen scones for a High School football team. This recipe was the best basic recipe we found! I made Lemon/Poppyseed, Vanilla/Almond, Blueberry/White Chocolate, Chocolate Chip and Orange/Cranberry with this recipe. It was a huge hit. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Mitchell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grizzly Flats, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
So yummy! These make up perfect! I was accused of buying them :) The recipe has been shared multiple times by request. Best (&easy) scone recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Excellent basic recipe. I changed it in the following way: less sugar, flour and flax seed flour, milk and orange juice, a bit of baking soda with a bit of lemon jest, vanilla and rhum extract, cranberries, raisins, pumpkin seeds, and hazelnuts. The result is divine!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
these scones tastes powerfully like baking soda. Very fluffy,and cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 652) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States