Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
They really are delish and exactly like british scones. - We did cheat and add an extra 1/4 c of butter & 1 tsp of vanilla. We cut the dough in small rounds with a cookie cutter and froze them. We brushed the tops with 1/2 & 1/2 and sprinkled with sugar and baked them frozen. Our girlscout troop just made these for World Thinking Day and added chocolate chunks and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe! I used the exact ingredients along with cinnamon and vanilla extract. They taste amazing! The recipe called for eight but they looked huge when I cut them into wedges, so I made them a but smaller and got a dozen scones; they are still huge! I will be making more of these in a wider variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is a great recipe! I only needed a few so took advantage of the custom feature and made 4- Totally made this in the food processor and just gathered and rolled and made 4 scones for breakfast-I added a handful of golden raisins to the dough and baked as directed-Perfect scones and much cheaper than eating out-I did cheat and had clotted cream and jam but extremely satisfying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Analiese Fammler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I halved the recipe - perfect 8 scones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Yummy! I halved the recipe(only 2 people this evening), mixed the egg (egg substitute actually) & milk together as suggested by others. The dough is a little on the "wet" side, just like my other scone recipes. Just flour your board, turn out the dough, dust a little flour over & gently fold it in on itself & knead maybe 4 times. It can then easily be rolled into a round & cut. Making a 1/2 batch I did 2 rounds cut into 6 wedges each - one plain & the other with orange zest. Coarse sugar was sprinkled over them all & baked for about 13 min. They were a perfect size, delicious - no odd tastes. We had ours w/ clotted cream & jam. Will make again w/ other flavor additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Best scones EVER! Don't purchase from Starbucks! Make these instead. Used the food processor to make the orange-cranberry recipe suggested and accidentally omitted the butter. Still super awesome. Dough was a little sticky but lightly dusted with flour to roll, then smash into a rectangle and then cut triangular scones by first dividing the rectangle into equal quarters. Baked at 400 for 17 minutes and came out perfect. Nom nom nom nom nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Raine Buhl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Great base recipe - I added candied Ginger and toasted Pecans - then coated with a ginger glaze - what a sweet (but not too) treat. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casa De Kitty Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carriere, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Delicious! I did the suggested pour egg in measuring cup first then add milk. I only used half of that mixture to moisten. I also added blueberries. Mmmmm eating one now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjhutch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Great! My fiancée loves this recipe. I always cut the added white sugar to 1/4 or 2/5 cup, and have started replacing with brown sugar. You can do all sorts of things with it: let me suggest adding dried blueberries to the base recipe. Or canned blueberries in water/light syrup and replacing some of the milk with the blueberry juice. I keep using this base recipe and toying around with it. One hint: don't dally once you've added the baking powder. Getting them in the over right away will make for fluffier scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Guerra
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
These were great. My family simply loved it. This will definitely be a regular at our table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 652) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States