Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
they're great but had to cut down on the baking powder made them to bitter only added 3 instead of the 5 the recipe said and they turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Fabulous! Used almost all the milk/egg mixture and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I gave this recipe 5 stars because I changed NOTHING! I've actually been making this very recipe for years and it really is perfect. It comes out the same way every time, which is good because I make them for my Mom every time she visits and I have to make extra to send them home with her. The only complaint I have is that once you eat them... They're gone ;) A long over due thanks to you Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I followed the recipe as written, beating the egg in a one cup measuring cup and then adding milk to the top as suggested by other reviewers. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla and a couple teaspoons cinnamon to the dry ingredients. When I added the wet ingredients to the dry I also added about 1 c blueberries. The dough doesn't hold together at first; be careful not to overwork or you get tough scones. I cut into triangles and froze on a cookie sheet then baked the next morning for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. They were great for breakfast! I also made a glaze with lemon juice and powdered sugar and drizzled that on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
AMAZING!!!! Do not change a thing, you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmarie617

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Very good, I put these into my recipe box and will make them again. I used light brown sugar instead of white and I also topped them with brown sugar. I used the full amount of egg and milk because I wanted the dough soft because I was adding fresh blueberries and wanted the berries firm and whole after folding them in. Since the dough was sticky and soft I dropped them onto a silicon baking sheet and smoothed them down with a wet spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Amazing! Moist, sweet and extremely easy to make! I also made a few changes: 3/4 cup of sugar instead of 1/2 cup and instead of using a rolling pin, I rolled them with my hands into small flat balls and baked them (Since I could not find my rolling pin!) Still they turned out excellent! The best recipe for scones that I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I was asked to make 8 dozen scones for a High School football team. This recipe was the best basic recipe we found! I made Lemon/Poppyseed, Vanilla/Almond, Blueberry/White Chocolate, Chocolate Chip and Orange/Cranberry with this recipe. It was a huge hit. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grizzly Flats, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
So yummy! These make up perfect! I was accused of buying them :) The recipe has been shared multiple times by request. Best (&easy) scone recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Excellent basic recipe. I changed it in the following way: less sugar, flour and flax seed flour, milk and orange juice, a bit of baking soda with a bit of lemon jest, vanilla and rhum extract, cranberries, raisins, pumpkin seeds, and hazelnuts. The result is divine!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States