Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Best scones EVER! Don't purchase from Starbucks! Make these instead. Used the food processor to make the orange-cranberry recipe suggested and accidentally omitted the butter. Still super awesome. Dough was a little sticky but lightly dusted with flour to roll, then smash into a rectangle and then cut triangular scones by first dividing the rectangle into equal quarters. Baked at 400 for 17 minutes and came out perfect. Nom nom nom nom nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Raine Buhl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Great base recipe - I added candied Ginger and toasted Pecans - then coated with a ginger glaze - what a sweet (but not too) treat. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casa De Kitty Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carriere, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Delicious! I did the suggested pour egg in measuring cup first then add milk. I only used half of that mixture to moisten. I also added blueberries. Mmmmm eating one now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjhutch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Great! My fiancée loves this recipe. I always cut the added white sugar to 1/4 or 2/5 cup, and have started replacing with brown sugar. You can do all sorts of things with it: let me suggest adding dried blueberries to the base recipe. Or canned blueberries in water/light syrup and replacing some of the milk with the blueberry juice. I keep using this base recipe and toying around with it. One hint: don't dally once you've added the baking powder. Getting them in the over right away will make for fluffier scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Guerra
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
These were great. My family simply loved it. This will definitely be a regular at our table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Delicious. We had just gone toThe Peninsula for afternoon tea and was craving scones. My 12 yo daughter loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This is only the second time I have made scones and this recipe is the best ever!!! The last time I used a different recipe and I am so glad that I finally found this recipe...absolutely delicious. I followed all others advice and measured the egg and milk together, so that both together would equal 1 cup. I also added Hazelnut creamer instead of milk just as an experiment. Either would be great. The only thing I will mention is: don't freak out that the dough is very sticky like I did. I trusted the recipe and left the dough sticky when I rolled them into a ball and baked them. Do not add any more flour than the 3 cups - they were truly great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This recipe is fantastic. I've tried it twice, so far. Once with 2 tsps of cinnamon and a second time as is. I followed the advice of other reviews and included the egg into the 1 cup of milk. Both versions were delicious. I am looking forward to adding to this recipe, it seems very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkySheppard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Enica
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Excellent! My boys and I were making scones for the first time and we keep coming back with customization. These are our Milk and White Chocolate Vanilla Scones based on your recipe. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Simple and delicious! I'm going to try adding some dried fruit next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StillSwirling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States