Scim's Fettucine Alfredo with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Good start but WAY too much butter! I felt queasy by the 5th bite. I'm going to try with half as much butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
If you want your sauce to be thick I would recommend that you cook the mushrooms separately. I used more shrimp and more fettucine than the recipe called for. I also used pre-cooked shrimp and added the shrimp and the cooked mushrooms to the sauce just before serving. It was an easy dinner and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
The mushrooms made flavor in this dish, would however add more shrimp. I doubled the recipe, big family! I used a 1 pound of shrimp, but didn't thicken I like I wanted--guess I'm picky. I don't like runny, I like real creamy sauces. But I added Konjac glucomannan powder used like cornstarch about 3 teaspoons for doubling the recipe(if your curious I bought the powder from miracle noodle dot com--it's amazing). I cooked the pound of shrimp with 2 tbsp butter 1 tbsp of fresh minced parsley & 1 tbsp minced garlic. Then added it to the cream mixture. But would add more shrimp the next time I make this. I soo will make this again. Flavors in this dish just popped! YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Saute garlic and onion in tablespoon of butter until clear. Add mushrooms and red bell pepper and 1/2 stick of butter. Then add fresh shrimp seasoned with salt and black and red pepper over medium-low heat. Add sour cream and 1/2 and 1/2 instead of heavy cream with teaspoon or less of corn starch to thicken and parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Very easy and delicious. I did add some fresh minced garlic to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This is wonderful but I added more mushrooms and some white pepper to add more flavor. Also you can use half and half if your worried about the fat of heavy cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I subbed half and half for the cream and it still thickened up nicely with the addition of the parmesan. Also added a little white pepper and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
It's unfortunate for my waistline that I have this recipe. I had mushrooms and cream and went in search of a good alfredo. I didn't have any shrimp, but did as others suggested and added garlic powder and capers. I am in heaven. My only problems are going to be making this too often and not being able to eat enough at one sitting. I did cook it a bit longer and felt the consistency I got was perfect. Thanks for this easy recipe that even my toddler enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I used this recipe for my annual Chrsitmas Dinner party with 2 variations I cooked the shrimp in olive oil( from Apulia, Italy) finely chopped garlic and shallots. I tossed linguini, the shrimp and al dente asparagus pieces into the alfredo sauce. The dish won rave reviews. Carmella D.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Mmmmm...mmmm...mmmm... Totally hit the spot followed the recipe and it was quite delicious. I made Vickie's beer bread with it and was a hit with my in-laws, husband, and kids!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittie24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Peppered Shrimp Alfredo

Alfredo sauce gets a kick with cayenne pepper, cheese, and cream.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States