Scim's Fettucine Alfredo with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Thank You...This recipe is a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Due to the HIGH fat content, I used 1/2 and 1/2 cream and low fat margarine. It still tasted absolutely wonderful since you also add parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalama, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Subbed 1/2 and 1/2 for the cream and added chopped spinach. Great taste, even the leftovers the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This is awesome! I used Chicken stock instead of the wine, doubled the garlic and added sliced baby portabello mushrooms and increased the butter a bit and added evoo. It was so awesome and makes great leftovers too! Will definetly make again. It will be a great Christmas dish - can't wait to use again! Thanks for the post Kimberly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I put my 1/2 stick butter in the pan and a few T of flour to make a rouix then whisked in half and half instead of heavy cream; added some garlic powder and salt, pepper and onion powder and a jar of mushrooms... I didn't have any fettucine so I used mini farfalle; I think they meant to use raw shrimp since the directions have you cook so long but I added my cooked shrimp during last few minutes and just heated until they were hot. Sprinkled in some fresh parsley and parmesan cheese! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Very easy...very quick....very good! I really enjoyed this recipe. I made mine with angel hair pasta and 5 cheese garlic bread and it was really good. I sauteed my shrimp in butter and garlc for just a few seconds, long enough to turn pink, set aside until the last 5 minutes on the sauce, then iI added the shrimp and they turned out great. Not over cooked, or chewy. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apopka, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This is a great fettucine alfredo recipe. I hardly changed anything. I switch swiss cheese for the parmesan just because I didn't have any on hand. I did add pepper, parsley, and garlic to the sauce. Having said this I would like to point out something I didn't understand in the recipe. Why would you add cooked shrimp and then cook it for 15 min. I really think that if you followed this part of the recipe you would end up with bad shrimp. Don't add the shrimp until after you have cooked the sause for 15 min and then just heat them through. Very simple, easy tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sedgwick, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mulvane, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Good start but WAY too much butter! I felt queasy by the 5th bite. I'm going to try with half as much butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
If you want your sauce to be thick I would recommend that you cook the mushrooms separately. I used more shrimp and more fettucine than the recipe called for. I also used pre-cooked shrimp and added the shrimp and the cooked mushrooms to the sauce just before serving. It was an easy dinner and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
The mushrooms made flavor in this dish, would however add more shrimp. I doubled the recipe, big family! I used a 1 pound of shrimp, but didn't thicken I like I wanted--guess I'm picky. I don't like runny, I like real creamy sauces. But I added Konjac glucomannan powder used like cornstarch about 3 teaspoons for doubling the recipe(if your curious I bought the powder from miracle noodle dot com--it's amazing). I cooked the pound of shrimp with 2 tbsp butter 1 tbsp of fresh minced parsley & 1 tbsp minced garlic. Then added it to the cream mixture. But would add more shrimp the next time I make this. I soo will make this again. Flavors in this dish just popped! YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Peppered Shrimp Alfredo

Alfredo sauce gets a kick with cayenne pepper, cheese, and cream.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States