Schweinebraten Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
this was good as others have reviewed it. I adjusted the beer to 1 cup and used 1/2 cup applesauce to mix with the onion and spices to make the rub more pastelike to brush it on. I think this made the roast a little more apple tasting so will reduce to only 1/4 cup and use 1 1/4C beer next time. I can't speak to the gravy bec my drippings ended up burnt to pan before I added more beer. All in all, I would make this again but be sure to check the liquid amount more carefully so the drippings don't burn and leave nothing tasty for gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
We had this tonight and it was awesome. We followed the suggestions of sliced granny Smith apples and chopped onions in the slow cooker. Cooked 1 hour on high and 3-3.5 hours on low. The other half used the reserve juicoes in the slow cooker and made a delicious gravy by adding to a simple roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This one was a pleasant surprise. I've been disappointed by beer-based roasts before (I'm looking at you, guinness brisket recipe), so I didn't have any real expectations going into this one but I'm glad I listened to the reviews! This was wonderful. Only change I made was to toss in some cut up carrots and quartered potatoes with the roast. I used Corona beer. For a recipe where you basically throw everything into a pan, toss it in the oven and forget about it, this was very very good, and all of the vegetables that cooked with it had great flavour as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was delicious! I found a great deal on port roast and didn't want to just cut it into chops. I had a 2 1/2 lb roast. I put it in the crock pot on low for four hours and double the rub used a Blue Moon beer (all i had on had) it was super moist. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Moist, full of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Coenen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I thought at first this recipe was going to be bland when I looked at the ingredients, I opted for this recipie because I didn't have a lot of ingredients on hand. I was so surprised how well it turned out!!! The only thing I omitted was the marjoram as I didn't have it on hand. I used Kokanee beer (canadian 5%). I also substitued regular salt for Kosher salt. It only took me 1 1/2 hrs to cook my roast and I used the liquid and drippings that was left over to make the gravy.. I added an extra cup of water and a quick "mushroom gravy" package to the liquid mixture. It made for great tasting gravy to accompany the roast! The kids just gobbled it up... I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
So easy and super delicious. Love this and will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Very easy recipe and it left the meat very moist! Only thing I did, which I would not do again, is I doubled the rub for a 2 lb. roast (according to all the other reviews). It became too salty and I think it would have done just fine leaving the recipe as is. Love how easy it was and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Made for Christmas one year and it was good. As with any roast, you have to watch the internal temp to make sure it doesn't get overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was good. I doubled the spices. Cooked the roast for about 2.5 hours. Put the drippings in a pan and added flour to thicken it up to make a gravy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States