Schweinebraten Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
this recipe was fantastic! i made it in the slow cooker and used woodchuck which is a hard cider. i've never felt the need to review a recipe before, but i feel that this deserves all five stars. it was the most tender, juicy and flavorful pork roast i've ever cooked. we didnt have any leftovers in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I made this roast for dinner today and I have to say it was very, very good. I made it as the recipe called for. I did however, double the spices and because I had a bag of Granny Smith apples, I peeled two apples and sliced them really thin and put them in the pan with the onions. The only beer I had available was Corona Light so I used that. The out come was beyond my exceptations. It was really, really good. The apples added a tartness, but didn't overwhelm the taste of the pork roast. I've tried the Autumn Pork roast from this site(that recipe is awesome as well) but this recipe had a completly different taste. Both are wonderful and I'll be making both recipes often. Because of this site my cooking abilities have really improved. I'm not always serving the same dishes over and over......I'm a huge All Recipe.com fan. And often refer the site to friends and family. Keep the good stuff coming....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greenbush Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davison, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenbush, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
WOW. How simple and delicious. One major problem with the recipes though... you forgot to mention what a delicious gravy the drippings make! I will say I doubled the amount of rub I used, but this could be a personal preference thing (but other might want to try it). I'm also curious about trying apple cider instead of beer. Might be good, and make for an interesting gravy. One thing... it took forever to bake and I had to add a little more beer... but I think I my have done something wrong. Not sure what happened there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Fabulous/5 Star/Easy!!! The house smelled out of this world when it was cooking. I followed recipe exactly except that I had a 3lb roast and I used the full amount of seasoning for a 5lb roast. Would do that again. Served it with Suzy's Mashed Red Potatoes (from this site), corn on the cob and applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I made this in my crock pot and it was great! It only took about 3 1/2 hours on low (my crock cooks pretty fast) for my 2 1/2lb roast. I also cooked green beans (frozen) and carrots with it and they,too, came out fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I am a fairly new cook. . my fiance said he wanted a pork roast for dinner when we were trying to decide on what to eat. I had never made one before and I found this recipe! This recipe was GREAT! My fiance LOVED it. Alongside the roast I made mashed potatoes, pork gravy (just the package kind) and creamed sweet corn! The combination of the 3 was tasty! Where I live good meats are hard to come by so I only had about a 2.5 lb roast. . .which was great for just 2 people. Even though the roast was smaller I still used to same amount of all other ingredients! I added garlic cloves to the roasting pan with the onions, and I added garlic powder and onion powder to the rub! Miller Lite beer is the only way to go in my family so naturally I used that. The great part. . I have leftovers for dinner tonight! BBQ Pork sandwiches it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Never really knew what to do with a pork roast. So glad I found this recipe first in my search. Fantastic!!! Altered slightly using Bud Lite Lime (no regular lite beer in the house). Husband and stepdaughter raved---delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Great base recipe! I used my dutch oven and Heinekin light beer. The house smelled great and the roast was so tender! The only thing that I would do differently next time is double the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meplus3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Excellent! Did end up adding more liquid about 1/2 way thru. (bud lite w/lime) Nice and moist and made a flavorful gravy. Added 2 cups chicken broth and thickend with cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ketchme71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This was really tasty! I took the advice of other reviewers and doubled the rub ingredients. I didn't have garlic powder, so I minced about a head of garlic and used it. (We're garlic lovers.) I used Woodchuck Cider as well... I figured that apples and pork always go well together. Made the pan drippings into gravy. My 5 pound roast finished in just under 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States