Schweinebraten Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
The meat was very tender and had a good flavor. I made gravy from the drippings as suggested by other reviewers. When I asked my husband to rate the recipe he asked if the gravy was part of the recipe or just something I added. He gave it a 4 star without the gravy and 5 stars with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Unbelievably easy and was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noel, Missouri, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I'm a mom of three finicky boys (ages 3,6, and 8). They and my husband LOVED this. It was sooo easy, and the house smelled divine. Enough for leftovers too....Remember to make gravy with the drippings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Delicious; juicy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This is a "must have" recipe. I just made this. I followed the ingredients exactly, except I added 1/2 tsp of marjoram and 1/2 tsp of basil. I cooked it in a small roasting pan so the amount of liquid was perfect. I used Bud Light Lime beer. My roast was slightly over 5 lbs and took 2-1/2 hours to cook (last 1/2 hour on convection). One thing I would do differently next time is brown the roast first, then cook it in an uncovered pan because it was slightly on the dry side. If I made gravy it probably would have been ok -- but, still very tasty without it. Thank-you ChasingStorms for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was just wonderful. I used a bone in roast and did it in a crockpot. It was fork tender and the gravy was great. One of the best recipes for pork that I have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I often use beer when roasting a turkey so I knew this would be spot on with pork. I used a twelve pound bone in fresh ham that had a nice layer of fat on top so there were no worries about it being dry or having to turn it during cooking. The beer added a wonderful flavor to the drippings that resulted in one amazing gravy. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
WOW. How simple and delicious. One major problem with the recipes though... you forgot to mention what a delicious gravy the drippings make! I will say I doubled the amount of rub I used, but this could be a personal preference thing (but other might want to try it). I'm also curious about trying apple cider instead of beer. Might be good, and make for an interesting gravy. One thing... it took forever to bake and I had to add a little more beer... but I think I my have done something wrong. Not sure what happened there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I am a fairly new cook. . my fiance said he wanted a pork roast for dinner when we were trying to decide on what to eat. I had never made one before and I found this recipe! This recipe was GREAT! My fiance LOVED it. Alongside the roast I made mashed potatoes, pork gravy (just the package kind) and creamed sweet corn! The combination of the 3 was tasty! Where I live good meats are hard to come by so I only had about a 2.5 lb roast. . .which was great for just 2 people. Even though the roast was smaller I still used to same amount of all other ingredients! I added garlic cloves to the roasting pan with the onions, and I added garlic powder and onion powder to the rub! Miller Lite beer is the only way to go in my family so naturally I used that. The great part. . I have leftovers for dinner tonight! BBQ Pork sandwiches it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Excellent! Did end up adding more liquid about 1/2 way thru. (bud lite w/lime) Nice and moist and made a flavorful gravy. Added 2 cups chicken broth and thickend with cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ketchme71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States