Schweinebraten Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Simple and quite good. The roast was moist and succulent. Just make sure you use a light beer, I had to use a regular beer and I felt that the beer flavor was a little too overpowering. We all enjoyed it, and next time I will use a light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I only gave this a 4 star as I agree with other reviewers and increased the spices. I used about 1 tsp of marjoram, about 1/4 c fresh basil and 3/4 tsp of garlic. I omitted the salt altogether. I also cooked in a crock pot on high for 4 hrs then made gravy with flour and a bit more beer. I loved the result. Great gravy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Loved this PORK!!! I lined my pan with foil for easy cleanup and used Victory beer 12.5% alcohol. (all i had) It was delish. Cooked for 35 minutes covered with foil, then another 35 minutes uncovered. Let stand (covered) for 20 minutes before slicing. It was a 3lb piece of pork butt. Fiance loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Oh My, Yum! This was delicious! I was just about to give up on pork roast, they just never seem to turn out right - either bad/bland taste or too tough. This was perfect flavor and tenderness. I can't wait to have company to make this for! I had a Hormel preseasoned roast (onion and garlic flavor) so I used about half the spices listed. Oh, I forgot to mention the smell in the house - they should make that into an air freshener! It was mouth-watering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Five stars cause the men of the house devoured it and raved about it (and that rarely happens). Me, personally, I wouldnt drink a beer if lost in a desert with no water, so I just couldnt get into the flavor - all I could taste was the beer (but I was the only one) I also thought it was way to heavy on the black pepper (again not a flavor I enjoy) - that was the only thing I could taste when I made the gravy, so I didnt serve the gravy. Next time around I am going to cut way back on the pepper and try it with a hard cider instead of beer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This was excellent! The pork had excellent flavor and was really quick and easy to prepare. I used Miller Chill light beer with lime. As others have said, the drippings made a marvelous gravy. My roast was so lean that I had no fat in the drippings so I used butter for the fat to make gravy and still used the juices. Next time I plan on using shortening instead of better in the gravy and less salt on the roast. It was a bit too salty for my tastes following the directions exactly. Overall this was a big hit with my family. There are hardly any leftovers and my husband said he liked this recipe better than my usual pork roast, which is one of his favorite meals! Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This was really tasty! I took the advice of other reviewers and doubled the rub ingredients. I didn't have garlic powder, so I minced about a head of garlic and used it. (We're garlic lovers.) I used Woodchuck Cider as well... I figured that apples and pork always go well together. Made the pan drippings into gravy. My 5 pound roast finished in just under 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I made this roast for dinner today and I have to say it was very, very good. I made it as the recipe called for. I did however, double the spices and because I had a bag of Granny Smith apples, I peeled two apples and sliced them really thin and put them in the pan with the onions. The only beer I had available was Corona Light so I used that. The out come was beyond my exceptations. It was really, really good. The apples added a tartness, but didn't overwhelm the taste of the pork roast. I've tried the Autumn Pork roast from this site(that recipe is awesome as well) but this recipe had a completly different taste. Both are wonderful and I'll be making both recipes often. Because of this site my cooking abilities have really improved. I'm not always serving the same dishes over and over......I'm a huge All Recipe.com fan. And often refer the site to friends and family. Keep the good stuff coming....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greenbush Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davison, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenbush, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Just didn't care for the flavor. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
The meat was very tender and had a good flavor. I made gravy from the drippings as suggested by other reviewers. When I asked my husband to rate the recipe he asked if the gravy was part of the recipe or just something I added. He gave it a 4 star without the gravy and 5 stars with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States