Schweinebraten Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I am a fairly new cook. . my fiance said he wanted a pork roast for dinner when we were trying to decide on what to eat. I had never made one before and I found this recipe! This recipe was GREAT! My fiance LOVED it. Alongside the roast I made mashed potatoes, pork gravy (just the package kind) and creamed sweet corn! The combination of the 3 was tasty! Where I live good meats are hard to come by so I only had about a 2.5 lb roast. . .which was great for just 2 people. Even though the roast was smaller I still used to same amount of all other ingredients! I added garlic cloves to the roasting pan with the onions, and I added garlic powder and onion powder to the rub! Miller Lite beer is the only way to go in my family so naturally I used that. The great part. . I have leftovers for dinner tonight! BBQ Pork sandwiches it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Excellent! Did end up adding more liquid about 1/2 way thru. (bud lite w/lime) Nice and moist and made a flavorful gravy. Added 2 cups chicken broth and thickend with cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ketchme71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Just fabulous! I had a slightly larger roast so I doubled the rub mixture... but kept it the same otherwise. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissTeena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva On The Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Fabulous/5 Star/Easy!!! The house smelled out of this world when it was cooking. I followed recipe exactly except that I had a 3lb roast and I used the full amount of seasoning for a 5lb roast. Would do that again. Served it with Suzy's Mashed Red Potatoes (from this site), corn on the cob and applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Never really knew what to do with a pork roast. So glad I found this recipe first in my search. Fantastic!!! Altered slightly using Bud Lite Lime (no regular lite beer in the house). Husband and stepdaughter raved---delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Great base recipe! I used my dutch oven and Heinekin light beer. The house smelled great and the roast was so tender! The only thing that I would do differently next time is double the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meplus3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
this recipe was fantastic! i made it in the slow cooker and used woodchuck which is a hard cider. i've never felt the need to review a recipe before, but i feel that this deserves all five stars. it was the most tender, juicy and flavorful pork roast i've ever cooked. we didnt have any leftovers in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Awesome! I couldn't find a boneless pork roast at the store so I used a 5 chop bone in roast. The roast and the gravy I made from the pan drippings was fantastic. Both my boyfriend and my guy roomate cleaned their plates. When there aren't any leftovers, you know you cooked something good. Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-68 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States