Schweinebraten Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I made this roast for dinner today and I have to say it was very, very good. I made it as the recipe called for. I did however, double the spices and because I had a bag of Granny Smith apples, I peeled two apples and sliced them really thin and put them in the pan with the onions. The only beer I had available was Corona Light so I used that. The out come was beyond my exceptations. It was really, really good. The apples added a tartness, but didn't overwhelm the taste of the pork roast. I've tried the Autumn Pork roast from this site(that recipe is awesome as well) but this recipe had a completly different taste. Both are wonderful and I'll be making both recipes often. Because of this site my cooking abilities have really improved. I'm not always serving the same dishes over and over......I'm a huge All Recipe.com fan. And often refer the site to friends and family. Keep the good stuff coming....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greenbush Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davison, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenbush, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Just didn't care for the flavor. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
The meat was very tender and had a good flavor. I made gravy from the drippings as suggested by other reviewers. When I asked my husband to rate the recipe he asked if the gravy was part of the recipe or just something I added. He gave it a 4 star without the gravy and 5 stars with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Unbelievably easy and was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noel, Missouri, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I'm a mom of three finicky boys (ages 3,6, and 8). They and my husband LOVED this. It was sooo easy, and the house smelled divine. Enough for leftovers too....Remember to make gravy with the drippings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Delicious; juicy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This is a "must have" recipe. I just made this. I followed the ingredients exactly, except I added 1/2 tsp of marjoram and 1/2 tsp of basil. I cooked it in a small roasting pan so the amount of liquid was perfect. I used Bud Light Lime beer. My roast was slightly over 5 lbs and took 2-1/2 hours to cook (last 1/2 hour on convection). One thing I would do differently next time is brown the roast first, then cook it in an uncovered pan because it was slightly on the dry side. If I made gravy it probably would have been ok -- but, still very tasty without it. Thank-you ChasingStorms for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was just wonderful. I used a bone in roast and did it in a crockpot. It was fork tender and the gravy was great. One of the best recipes for pork that I have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I often use beer when roasting a turkey so I knew this would be spot on with pork. I used a twelve pound bone in fresh ham that had a nice layer of fat on top so there were no worries about it being dry or having to turn it during cooking. The beer added a wonderful flavor to the drippings that resulted in one amazing gravy. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
WOW. How simple and delicious. One major problem with the recipes though... you forgot to mention what a delicious gravy the drippings make! I will say I doubled the amount of rub I used, but this could be a personal preference thing (but other might want to try it). I'm also curious about trying apple cider instead of beer. Might be good, and make for an interesting gravy. One thing... it took forever to bake and I had to add a little more beer... but I think I my have done something wrong. Not sure what happened there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States