Schweine Ohren (Pig's Ears) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Schweineohren is a typical German pastry. To get the authentic flavour, you need to brush the dough with melted butter, then sprinkle it with sugar. Without the butter the cookie is too dry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JILLYWIB
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
very simple and delicious. i drizzled with some icing. make sure to get these off the baking sheet as soon as they come out of the oven or else they will become permanently 'glued' to your baking sheet. i bet they would be good with cinnamon and sugar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
I make these often. We call them "palmeritas" or "manitas" in PR and in Panama they are called "orejas". After I bake them I like to brush a glaze (honey w/ butter {1:1 or to taste}) on one side and sprinkle tiny nonpareils (grajeas)on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I spread chocolate spread on the pastry before sprinkling the sugar at every stage of rolling it.... Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I filled these with nuttella and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Used only one-third of the sugar & it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
VERY simple to make and very tasty. Not over the top. Simple flavor, just pastry and sugar, so if you are looking something with grand flavor, try a different recipe. I did however like this very much and so did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Somebody pinch me! These are so #@$%&! good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This is a 5 star recipe as is, but I gave it 4 because I made a few changes. I omitted the sugar and used strawberry preserves instead. Yummy. I have also brushed melted butter on pastry, then sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar, and another variation is I made with red pepper jelly as a savory appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These are ridiculously easy and amazingly good! I did borrow from other reviewers though. I brushed the pastry sheets with butter and then sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. After they came out of the oven, I brushed them with a 1-1 mix of butter and honey. I was making them for our church coffee hour when my husband snagged one and then proceeded to sneak more! Then my 9-year-old son got into the act and I ended up running back to the store for more pastry puff sheets!!!!! A real keeper. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States