Schwarma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This recipe for Schwarma was delicious. Not to spicey and so good that my whole family(include little brothers and sisters) were wishing I had made extra. The only change I made was I used home-made flat bread instead of Pita bread. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the_crazy_cooker
Home Town: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
We really enjoyed this, it reminded my daughter of the stuff by the same name she had had in Spain, and she loved it. I think I would rather grill it (we'll try that next time as that's the way it was done in Spain), but this took little time overall and would make a great summer meal--light and pleasant on a hot night. It was not quite as spicy as I expected once cooked, we also sliced open the pitas into pockets, but we enjoyed the light flavor and the speed of cooking made it especially nice at the end of a busy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I am a Chef/ Manager for a Catering Company and I put this on my Menu to see if it was as good as it sounded..And by the way my Clients were lining up for these lovely little wraps it was a huge success.I did not put in the hot sauce and I am glad these had some kick,,, Very Very Nice... Thank You Very Much. I will be having these with my family at home as well as at work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This was awesome! It was easy to make and a really nice flavor. I took it easy on the spice in the marinade but only because my husband is not crazy about really hot food. But I added a few drops on the shwarma itself, mmmmmmm I did BBQ it and it turned out good. I added a mix of chopped onion, cucumber, yellow bell pepper, grape tomatoes, and baby spinach. Seasoned it with garlic powder, salt, and pepper. This was a perfect summer meal that was easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Great recipe. Had with couscous, hummus, and salad. Quite tasty. We experimented using the Foreman grill to cook. Figured it was easier to clean than the grilling racks. Only took about 1.5 minutes to cook through on high. Still a bit messy to clean up, but when something's that good, it's worth the extra scrubbing. Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I found this very tasty. Next time I make it I will not do it in Pita Bread, I am going to try it with veggies and potatoes or rice. Very nice thank you Irene
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Graver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Enjoyed this recipe and I made as directed, except used 1/4 tsp. hot pepper sauce. Since the chicken is marinated so much in advance the meal is a snap to pull together after work. I added chopped red pepper and shredded lettuce to the pita along with the other veggies, and served with tzatziki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
One adjustment... I omitted the Mace. And still...Man .. oh ... man is about all I have to say. It was heavenly. Just like back in the Middle East.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Excellent recipe. Made it as is and it tasted so authentic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This meal had a very strange smell and taste. Even the cooking stage smelled strange. We ate it but something got lost in the translation. We are very big fans of Middle Eastern food usually, but not this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States