Schwarma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This recipe for Schwarma was delicious. Not to spicey and so good that my whole family(include little brothers and sisters) were wishing I had made extra. The only change I made was I used home-made flat bread instead of Pita bread. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the_crazy_cooker
Home Town: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
We really enjoyed this, it reminded my daughter of the stuff by the same name she had had in Spain, and she loved it. I think I would rather grill it (we'll try that next time as that's the way it was done in Spain), but this took little time overall and would make a great summer meal--light and pleasant on a hot night. It was not quite as spicy as I expected once cooked, we also sliced open the pitas into pockets, but we enjoyed the light flavor and the speed of cooking made it especially nice at the end of a busy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I am a Chef/ Manager for a Catering Company and I put this on my Menu to see if it was as good as it sounded..And by the way my Clients were lining up for these lovely little wraps it was a huge success.I did not put in the hot sauce and I am glad these had some kick,,, Very Very Nice... Thank You Very Much. I will be having these with my family at home as well as at work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This was awesome! It was easy to make and a really nice flavor. I took it easy on the spice in the marinade but only because my husband is not crazy about really hot food. But I added a few drops on the shwarma itself, mmmmmmm I did BBQ it and it turned out good. I added a mix of chopped onion, cucumber, yellow bell pepper, grape tomatoes, and baby spinach. Seasoned it with garlic powder, salt, and pepper. This was a perfect summer meal that was easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
One adjustment... I omitted the Mace. And still...Man .. oh ... man is about all I have to say. It was heavenly. Just like back in the Middle East.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Excellent recipe. Made it as is and it tasted so authentic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 3BadBoxers
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
It does have a strange smell while preparing, most foreign foods do. But if prepared properly, this is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
great taste! I made my own pitas and made more of the "marinade" and used that for my base. Stuffed with lettuce on top and a drizzle of ranch. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Even better than anticipated. I used nutmeg instead of mace and nonfat yogurt works well. I also didn't have Pita bread so I used whole wheat soft taco size tortilla. Very Good. Thanks for the healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I totally had these for the first time when I deployed to Saudi Arabia. Can wait to make them for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Katsu

A Japanese style pan-fried chicken.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States