Schwarma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
great taste! I made my own pitas and made more of the "marinade" and used that for my base. Stuffed with lettuce on top and a drizzle of ranch. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
These were really great. A tip for slicing the meat really thin: Freeze it first for at least 30 minutes. Makes it much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westford, Vermont, USA
Photo by 3BadBoxers
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
It does have a strange smell while preparing, most foreign foods do. But if prepared properly, this is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This meal had a very strange smell and taste. Even the cooking stage smelled strange. We ate it but something got lost in the translation. We are very big fans of Middle Eastern food usually, but not this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Excellent recipe. Made it as is and it tasted so authentic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
One adjustment... I omitted the Mace. And still...Man .. oh ... man is about all I have to say. It was heavenly. Just like back in the Middle East.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Enjoyed this recipe and I made as directed, except used 1/4 tsp. hot pepper sauce. Since the chicken is marinated so much in advance the meal is a snap to pull together after work. I added chopped red pepper and shredded lettuce to the pita along with the other veggies, and served with tzatziki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I found this very tasty. Next time I make it I will not do it in Pita Bread, I am going to try it with veggies and potatoes or rice. Very nice thank you Irene
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Graver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Great recipe. Had with couscous, hummus, and salad. Quite tasty. We experimented using the Foreman grill to cook. Figured it was easier to clean than the grilling racks. Only took about 1.5 minutes to cook through on high. Still a bit messy to clean up, but when something's that good, it's worth the extra scrubbing. Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This was awesome! It was easy to make and a really nice flavor. I took it easy on the spice in the marinade but only because my husband is not crazy about really hot food. But I added a few drops on the shwarma itself, mmmmmmm I did BBQ it and it turned out good. I added a mix of chopped onion, cucumber, yellow bell pepper, grape tomatoes, and baby spinach. Seasoned it with garlic powder, salt, and pepper. This was a perfect summer meal that was easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States