School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
I made only a half recipe. Quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Sonnenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
a little sticky but good! next time I will just cut them into squares and bake then in a cake pan. really soft and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Delicious!! My new roll recipe. I, too, halved the ingredients, but used two pks of the yeast. I've been trying other roll recipes, but this one is "it". Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Even tho this made pretty good rolls, they did not taste the way I remember schoolhouse rolls. To me, they had the taste and texture of commercial white bread..and there's nothing wrong with that, it just wasn't what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I made the full recipe and while the dough rose beautifully and the rolls looked very good they had absolutely no taste whatsoever. I was really hoping for somthing a little better. I'll stick with the "best rolls ever" also found on this site. Thanks for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Wonderful! Just like school...don't be stingy with the time for kneading, it's so important to get that texture right. Fab flavor! Making them again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBILLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
It's true, you can't mess these up! I am not any good at bread making and these turned out great. I used butter flavored Crisco and they tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Wonderful recipe! Due to my families dietary needs, I substituted a few ingredients, but this is the best roll recipe I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I have been searching for the perfect roll recipe, this is it! Just follow the recipe and you can't go wrong. I could not believe how light this dough was and the rolls turned out GREAT. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This is one of the best roll recipe I have found and easiest to make. Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States