School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
These are delicate, tender, delicious, and far superior to everything my school lunchroom ever produced! I made a half batch--now I wish I'd made a double! I will use this over and over and over! I didn't change a thing except method-wise--I kneaded in the bowl, and used the tear-off-and-shape method. I did have to add about a half cup more flour when kneading--it was far too sticky but that's probably something to do with halving the recipe. EDIT: 11/2009: Made these again, using the overnight rise method. Even more delicious. But do be sure to let them reach room temperature before you bake, otherwise the tops will get too done before the middles are done! I gave mine 2.5 hours to reach room temp & ran out of time...so at least 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I calculated this down to 15 servings and I'm glad I didn't use the ingredients for the original 45 servings. Unfortunately, I'll be tossing these out for the birdies in the morning. They just turned out oddly. The texture looked spot on but felt gummy & heavy in the mouth. I had read the reviews so I increased salt slightly but apparently not enough to combat the lack of flavor. I'm actually baffled by the result. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Soooooo good! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I made this twice, once for my husband, and then for a dinner with 12 people. All the rolls were gone! I did not substitute anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
They are wonderful. I make these rolls every Sunday for dinner, and have done for months now. Instead of sugar in the yeast I use honey. It seems to grow faster. I also use quick rise yeast just to speed up the process a bit. I have also used this recipe to make white bread. It makes two large loaves. I usually make braided bread and bake it on a cookie sheet. It is wonderful every single time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gunnison, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
These did rise beautifully, and it could just be me, but I don't think there was enough salt. Kind of bland flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ***Jaimee***

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Farms, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I am so excited! I made half of the recipe and they are great! I have never made bread before that we actually could eat! I agree with the 8 yr old daughter, these are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Fantastic rolls! The whole family loved these. This recipe will definitely go into our regular rotation. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ville Platte, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Excellent recipe. Very easy, this was my first time making bread. The rolls came out perfect so light and fluffy tasted great. I made two batche in two days, gave some away. everbody loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Scaled to 15 for small batch. Good - but not great. Needs more flavor and umph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States