School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I decided to try this recipe and these rolls are really good. Almost like the lunchroom rolls I grew up eating. I tried to follow the recipe exactly but goofed it up a few times. It did not appear to rise properly, it was super sticky and I used more oil/butter on my hands so I could form these into balls. I had to bake mine longer and use the broiler to brown the tops. I buttered the tops as soon as they came out of the oven. I also used convection baking. So, this recipe is somewhat forgiving because they turned out perfect. I have never baked a roll in my life but will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Now these are some great, easy to make and tasty yeast rolls. I did cut the recipe down to 15 and made 14 rolls, placed in a buttered 9x13 glass dish. I did have to bake for about 17-18 minutes to get the nice browning. They are light, fluffy and I think the flavor is just what I love! Served with Brown Sugar Meatloaf and fresh greenbeans with little new potatoes. What a gourmet meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
These were not what I was expecting taste wise. They were very bland. I would have given only 3 stars, but I scaled down the recipe and did not make as posted. The rolls had a nice fluffiness and texture was beautiful, but taste was just blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I ended up making more of a loaf because I found the dough to be too sticky to make balls, but it was WONDERFUL! This was a huge hit, and it is something that I will make over and over again. It was also my first experiment with making bread from scratch without a breadmaker, so it was really pretty easy. If I can make it, anyone can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Got on "Recipe Buzz" for a quick answer for a recipe I remember reading for cafeteria rolls. This was exactly what I was looking for. Very easy and yummy. I did half it and use 2 pkg of yeast as another suggested. All those recipes I have tried and now I have it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
These are really easy to make and the best rolls we have ever made! This recipe has replaced a long time yeast roll recipe that we have used for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Best darn yeast rolls EVER!!! Kids and husband absolutely LOVED these rolls. Even my husbands' supervisor requested these lovely balls of heaven! He said it tasted just like his grandma's recipe, but she let hers rise on the table overnight and then steamed them until done over a pot! This way is soo much easier and they taste fabulous! Wonderful recipe, everyone must try this one if they love yeast rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. T. Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Libby, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
These rolls turned out great and i have never made rolls from scratch before. However, it does make a lot of rolls! I should have read the amount of each ingredient first - 10 cups of flour - you will need a big bowl! Yummy though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
just as easy as they claimed! taste was nice, I've never made dinner rolls before. would be super with a sunday chicken dinner! thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Great recipie, just like my old cafeteria used to serve. I live in Spain and the powdered yeast we get here is practically worthless. Once I figured out that I had to use real yeast instead of the powdered stuff the rolls turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States