School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Delicious!! My new roll recipe. I, too, halved the ingredients, but used two pks of the yeast. I've been trying other roll recipes, but this one is "it". Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I have been searching for the perfect roll recipe, this is it! Just follow the recipe and you can't go wrong. I could not believe how light this dough was and the rolls turned out GREAT. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Very easy. I followed the recipe to a "t". Very light and fluffy. Tasty with melted honey butter on them.Mix your honey and butter together. Pop into the micro for about 10 seconds. Pour over the rolls. Yum, Yum, Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Wow! These were EXACTLY the rolls I remember from school. Thank you!!! I read the reviews before I made these and noticed many comments said they were bland, so I looked up typical salt-to-flour ratios for yeast breads, and the amount was off by 2 teaspoons, more if more flour is used while kneading. (Ratio is 1/2 teaspoon salt per 1 cup flour.) I didn't have shortening so I substituted butter for that, and since shortening is 100% fat and butter is 20% water (if you use typical butter--European butter has a higher fat content), I used a tablespoon more butter (so 5 tablespoons were used) for rubbing into the flour, and took away a tablespoon of water from the 3 cups. These were amazing!!! Thank you so much for posting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I made the full recipe and while the dough rose beautifully and the rolls looked very good they had absolutely no taste whatsoever. I was really hoping for somthing a little better. I'll stick with the "best rolls ever" also found on this site. Thanks for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
These rolls were delicious - just what I was looking for. I served these right from the oven at dinner, and they were the best part of the meal. I made half a batch (about 24 rolls) and they were all gone the next day - the kids wanted to take them to school for lunch. Thanks for the recipe, MOMMY2THREEANGELS, I'll be making these again and again and probably during the holidays too. Update: I like to scale the recipe down to 15 servings and make the dough in my bread machine. I've replaced up to 1/3 of the flour with ww flour. I don't make these as often as my kids request because I usually eat too many (the big reason why I never make a full batch). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
These were good and easy. I used 1/2 wheat flour and ended up not using all the dry/flour mixture, maybe a 1/2 cup or so was left. Oh and I didn't roll them out. It was just easier for me to pull chunks off and roll them into balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Wonderful! Just like school...don't be stingy with the time for kneading, it's so important to get that texture right. Fab flavor! Making them again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBILLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
These rolls are delicious,soft,most and just what I was looking for. I served these right from the oven at dinner, I made half a batch and I (about 18 rolls)I will be making them a lot. Thanks for posting the best rolls on this site. my family loved them......Terry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
a little sticky but good! next time I will just cut them into squares and bake then in a cake pan. really soft and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States